keep on keeping on

05.31.05 @ 6:34 p.m.

Okay, I'm seriously considering scaling back this business here and making it a basic blog, and switching all the personal and "this is how my day went" stuff to a paper diary, because I am feeling really fucking inhibited about what I write anymore, and that does no good. Well, that's not exactly true, but I still want to keep a paper diary. Part of the glee involved in this is thinking "OMG I get to go out and buy a diary" because one of the things I really love is buying notebooks, the fancier the better. (And then, of course, I get all scared of writing in them. I bought one specifically for S&S and ICRY, and I have about 13 pages of S&S in it and eight thousand versions of ICRY on my computer and in notebooks. Hell, I started a new one this afternoon.)

Speaking of the dark and terrible world of fanfiction, I borrowed a copy of Bitch magazine from one of my feminism classmates, because I happened upon an article on slash fic in issue 20, and oh am I eager to give it a thorough reading. I photocopied it with my printer. How sad is it that I would be so utterly delighted to write a thesis or scholarly paper on slash? It's part of my vague yearning to document and analyze the culture of the internet. Mostly, Dumbrella, but Dumbrella seems to be a nice microcosom of the internet.

I am such a nerd that I want to BE A NERD PROFESSIONALLY, WHAT THE HELL.

Okay, so, this weekend I went to a dog show. It was pretty fun. This woman, Linda, loves my corgi pup so much that she asked me if we were going to breed him soon, because she wants one of his puppies. He's only 13 months old, geez. I spent some time with one of the two Billy sons, Ross, who is a big, masculine dog with a kind of clutzy charm. He's like a big stupid kitten who could incidentally knock you over, give you a leash burn, or break a finger. I'm fairly glad, because my attention to Ross meant Dad took him to the second day of the show and he got a lot of attention and praise. And I spent most of my time hanging out with my dog.

Other weekend time-consumers:
-Went out with Martha and Amy and played a new Cranium game, Whoonu. Was exhausted, but they insisted on playing through both goddamn decks.
-Dinner with Uncle Pretentious, Aunt Corporate, my parents and Grandma for Grandma's 79th birthday. Dad made a lot of dicky "jokes" (funny to no one) about Grandma being 80. WTF.
-That day I ate: Burger King Cheeseburger Kid's Meal (got a plastic Obi-Wan Kenobi, AWESOME), a Burger King double cheeseburger, and a bacon cheeseburger at Cornelius Pass Roadhouse. Dear god, so much beef. No wonder I weigh 10 pounds more than I did last winter.
-Naps are lovely
-OMG I had a tea party with my mom. Which is to say I wanted tea to wake myself up, Mom suggested we share a pot of tea, and I discovered that an old set of blue and white china we have has a full on tea service with it. Cups, saucers, a sugar bowl, cream pitcher and quite a lovely tea pot. So I cleaned the dust out of two cups, two saucers, and the pot and we had our tea in STYLE. (I cannot express the kind of joy that comes from having my sense of whimsy so indulged by my mom.)
-Dear Michael Nesmith: Have I told you lately that I love you? I love you.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top