positively 4th street

05.07.05 @ 11:04 p.m.

This has been a good day. A very good day.

Dad and I went out early-ish in the day to go to Borders and Fred Meyer because he had a gift certificate for Borders he wanted to spend and apparently just felt like going to Freddy's for popsicles. (?) I was just browsing idly at Borders and Dad went straight for the magazines. This is a good thing. Uncut's NME Originals series, which totally has my heart as much as a magazine can, has put out a Mod issue. It has Townshend on the front, as well as Steve Mariott maybe and someone from The Jam. I really don't know. The foreword is by Ian McLagen of the Small Faces (who is currently still married to Keith Moon's one time wife, Kim) and the whole magazine is GLORIOUS.

I love the mod movement SO MUCH. I would ultimately like to acquire more in the way of old Mod bands, though a lot of what they listened to was American R&B and soul. There are so many lovely compilations advertised in Uncut, but it's a British magazine, so I half imagine that they aren't really available in this country. I should go on an online spree.

Not that I need to be spending money. The issue of NME Originals cost me $11 and I went out to spend at least another $50 on hair dye, bleach, three CDs (Chutes Too Narrow, The Velvet Underground and Nico, and a CD from an issue of Uncut being resold at a used CD store that claims to be songs that influenced the creation of Tommy, including Pete's demo of "Pinball Wizard," though I already have that on Scooped. I picked it up because it had stuff like the Creation on it. (I am dying for a copy of the Creation's Our Music is Red with Purple Flashes or whatever it's called. Or just some truly good Mod compilations.)) and iron on letters at the craft store. I have two shirts I would like to make in mind, and I bought two blank ringers already. EXCITEMENT.

I got to spend some quality time both with my dog and my mom. We took The Boys (Bobby Dylan, Roger Daltrey) and their mama for a walk around the upper pasture. Dad likes to take his new lawn tractor and cut a track around the edges of it for no reason other than to make a walking path up around the hill. Mom told me all about the soap-opera-esque drama that surrounds our neighbor on the northeast side, who has apparently taken out a restraining order against her husband. In an IM conversation with my childhood best friend, I referred to them as Mr. and Mrs. Jesus. They are missionaries of the kind of wild-eyed, crazy sort. She writes Christian piano songbooks and teaches science to homeschool kids. God only knows what he does. Landscaping, maybe, since he built a little waterfall at the front of their house. They own half the pond, we own the other half, and Dad sure would like to "help" our lady neighbor out by buying the rest of the pond from her, but how to approach her when we aren't really supposed to know that everything is DRAMA DRAMA DRAMA? It's not so surprising to hear that the husband was maybe physically abusive, though I'm certainly shocked, but it is truly surprising to hear that maybe he's had action on the side for years upon years. WHAT THE FUCK. Does this actually happen in real life?

Gossip is a perverse delight.

For the last couple of hours, my mom has very kindly been helping me with the onerous task of bleaching and dying the bottom four or five inches of my hair. I decided to go for blue again and I'll have a picture on Sunday, when I am back in the vicinity of my camera.

Sleep, shopping, quality time with each parent and my dog, getting my hair dyed so I don't have to think about it anymore... Very satisfying.

Oh! And my dad gave me Bridge Over Troubled Water to copy, so I'm wallowing in new music, not that I don't still have quite a lot of Dylan to work through. He also loaned me his guitar (a Washburn of a fancy variety; I cannot remember the model number) and this big book of chords for popular songs to fuss with all weekend. I am PLEASED. It's easy chords, too, but I want idle entertainment, not a challenge. I played, among other things, "Behind Blue Eyes." (I am also infinitely pleased that my chords for Dylan's "You Ain't Goin' Nowhere" are correct. It is just G-Am-C-G x2 for each verse and chorus, over and over again. Very simple, but fun enough for me.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top