when the rain comes, they run and hide their heads...

05.09.05 @ 8:41 p.m.

I set goals and then utterly fail to follow through. At least, that's how it goes with homework. Now, today, I blame the old Mac computer game Escape Velocity.

How I love playing Escape Velocity. Currently, I'm trying to save up enough money to buy a fighter, engage in some piracy, then get my ass blown up to clear my criminal record and go back to maybe honest trading with a great big ship.

Or get blown up a lot. Whatever.

I'm halfway through the book Rubyfruit Jungle and oh, I love it a million times more than Fear of Flying. Isadora was just kind of... repulsive. Molly is easy enough to like, in her own gruff way. I did a pretty sizeable chunk of my reading this morning, having purchased a muffin at the bookstore and proceeding to the caf� in the library to get the good hot chocolate I've had there before. I couldn't finish it, because out of nowhere I started to feel really hot and really sick to my stomach, which sent me into a total panic because my dad is just regaining his strength after a miserable bout with some kind of virus that just floored him. He could barely keep up with his dog chores, and I ended up feeling more than a little worried this morning that I caught whatever he had this weekend. I honestly walked up the steps from the caf� telling myself "I will not throw up. I do not need to throw up. I am fine. I do not need to throw up." Of course, I had to go right back down the damn stairs because I had left my umbrella under the table. I felt better after an hour or so at the computer, to my relief.

Holy damn, the weather. It poured down rain all day. I cannot think of one time I went outside today and did not get wet. I realized immediately after my first class that today was not a day for Converse. Squelch, squelch, squelch. In Pacific Hall, I heard one girl whine, "I miss California, I want to go back home." Geez. I do have to say that it's not usual weather, but it's needed, so sack up and deal with it.

Soon: I am going to make a chocolate pie and unload a big ol' can of whipped cream on it. I am LONGING for such a thing, but did not want to go out to the store this afternoon.

Lastly, blue:

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top