exquisitely bored

01.22.05 @ 11:05 p.m.

I'm up late... well, because I can be, I guess. And hell, it isn't even late. I guess it's no SNL for me tonight.

See, I went to a dog show today. And for some ungodly reason, herding dogs are always put on first fucking thing in the morning, so we had to be at Expo before 8. Bobby stinks like you wouldn't believe, and that's AFTER we gave him a thorough dry-bath. Not that dry-bath will do much good no matter what the situation is, unless it is a situation of mild dog smell, in which case it might help a little.

That isn't the point. The point is that I'm tired already.

Um. Drove up to Portland on Friday, which was pretty uneventful. Someday I will develop the skillz that allow me to do complicated changes on my iPod while driving. I've been listening to maybe (shhh, don't tell Ryan/Jessica/many others) too much Modest Mouse of late. I listened to all of the moon & antarctica and then got bored with MM and switched to American Idiot.

I actually had quite a good day on Friday. I can't really remember what else happened that I thought was particularly lucky, but I decided I couldn't go to Borders due to traffic and decided to make do with Tanasbourne. I didn't find the book I needed, but I ended up getting two Townshend CDs and two other CDs I wanted on sale. (The Townshend CDs are All the Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes and Scooped, which is a greatest hits of all three Scoop albums. I am happy to have "Zelda" on my iPod now.)

Not finding the book gave me an excuse to go to Powell's after the dog show today. I took some pictures at the show that are on my camera out in the pickup. Not much to say about it--Bobby pooped all over, got fawned over because he's the cutest damn thing there is, and I watched Dad show J-Bizzle (J-Bez or something like it is the name his religious former co-owner gave him; his real name is Miracle Believer in honor of Billy (I'm A Believer).) Dad wanted me to go with him tomorrow as well to help with some stuff, but I'm opting out in favor of MUCH SLEEP instead.

This was the first time I went down to Powell's entirely by myself. It was fun, in a subdued kind of way. I didn't have to worry about time or other people wanting to go home, etc. I ended up also buying a Who PVG book (not realizing it wasn't tab until later, but I use chord progressions more than tab, honestly, because I am a guitarist of low skill) because the Who bio I wanted and which had been there forever was GONE.

When I got home, I realized that the clerk neglected to charge me for The Complete Poetry of John Milton, which was the whole purpose of the expedition. I managed to find one with no writing in it except on the first page, and I just tore that out. (I hate anyone writing in books except me, and I never write on a book I think I'll sell.)

I watched half of Pulp Fiction and got bored and decided not to continue.

(PS-I quite like the Chinese Eyes album so far.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top