circles (instant party)

01.16.05 @ 7:19 p.m.

"Here, as in real life, Ellen plays the straight man." - Martha, on the collaborative story my friends and I are working on. There is my place in the world; the one who acts normally amid the craziness. I am John Entwistle: the anchor around which the insanity turns.

Good lord, I haven't updated in days and days.

The week was nothing special in most respects. I spent most of my time half-assedly doing homework and cleaning up in preparation for my housewarming party. (Apartmentwarming?)

I don't know if I've mentioned my fascination with LOST on ABC. I love it, but it's frustrating. I would have been really happy if they had had the balls to kill off Shannon this week, but instead they wussed out and made it a dream sequence just like they brought Charlie back to life at the last possible moment. And if it was Jack and not the island that brought him back, then I am disappointed. I think Locke would have been a little too crazy if Boone's hallucination had been real, though, so there's that. I'm always eager for the next episode.

Thursday, I saw Glenn again, which is weird but not bad, because ultimately Glenn is a good guy. Did I even mention this before? Glenn is a fellow I went to high school with, who, on first seeing me at school sometime last year, said my full name in a tone of astonishment. I guess he lives a street over from me, so we sometimes ride the same bus and have twice walked together for the two or three blocks that compose our common route home. After that I used what little time I had to relax and eat (and do a little light cleaning) before dashing off to my evening class, which is boring and irritating. I still have not settled my practicum, but South Eugene High School is processing my background check. I drove, which made all the difference. The first week, I had to kill an hour in the library waiting for the next bus to come and walk from the stop at ten at night, AND my VCR was fucked up and didn't tape CSI. This week I bought a new VCR and managed to park right outside the class building, so I was home by nine anyway.

Friday, Friday is where the fantastic part of my week was. I held my party, attended by Martha, Andrew, Amy, Moni, and Dumbrella Ryan. We had a lot of fun and ate a ton of food. Ryan used up all my poster tape putting "OMG WTF" on my wall in construction paper as well as a penis and a vagina. Classy. I left the letters up, though. Here is a small and blurry picture of Moni, Ryan, Martha and Andrew. I am behind the camera and Amy is probably downstairs.

We played Hoopla with homemade cards (because we've played the whole deck, or at least some of us have--Martha and Amy, maybe Andrew. Certainly not me) and that was fun, but... well, the thing is that Andrew has a kind of blissful ignorance of social boundaries. A lack of knowledge that a "circle jerk" Hoopla card is really not appropriate for us. At least twice last night he expressed surprise that he had said certain things out loud. It's like he has no filters in his brain sometimes, and while he has never done anything malicious or really inappropriate, it's a little irritating to have to say "DUDE, that is not cool and not right for this situation." There is also some convoluted logic there. How the hell are we going to guess a card that says "Dog orgy"? See, the rest of us are used to it. I rather imagine that poor Ryan was a little bewildered. Oh well. He has two weeks to get used to the idea of Andrew before we all go to the Modest Mouse concert (omg I'm so excited). Ryan and Moni went home, Amy, Andrew and Martha crashed here. On Saturday, we went out again for a little while and everyone (except Ryan) went to lunch. We sat in the bar area of Red Robin, which is only interesting in that we had to all bust out the ID, which is the first time we've had to as a group. Amy got comped for her salad because she found a hair in it. What does it say about me that I would probably be grossed out but not think to complain to the management?

Martha didn't want to brave the freezing rain that hit Portland and stayed an extra night. We had a kind of relaxed and low key evening, idly reading and listening to music in between bouts of talking until SNL. She left this morning. I didn't do much today except take a step toward keeping up with my resolution to work on my writing more. I had Madeline Whitby printed up at Kinkos. I want to either have a good start on editing or have finished Amabelle Pennington (AKA Regency Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam) before next month's Eugene NaNo meeting.

No school tomorrow! Which means no school until 2 pm Tuesday for me! Hurrah!

[title: Who single from the contentious Shel Talmy period, hence the double title.]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top