are we the waiting

01.03.05 @ 9:20 p.m.

An exchange between my father and myself:

Dad: You aren't taking the chips back to Eugene with you?
Me: No, I don't need all those snack foods. I'm getting FAT FAT FAT.
Dad: What about the mozerella sticks?
Me: Oh, yeah, I'll take those.
Jodi, Mom, & Dad: HAHAHAHAHA
Me, a moment later: ha ha ha.

Driving down from Portland was a bitch, since the sun was in my eyes most of the time. The winter sun is a horrible thing. I was blinded all today, too, whenever I was outside.

My litany of complaints for today are as follows: I mis-set not only my alarm clock (am/pm mixup) but am also incapable of setting the timer on my stereo, it would seem. Jesus Christ, I go to the trouble of having a back up so I won't sleep through class and I fail there, too.

I had to buy a new power adapter for my laptop, as I tripped on the cord of the last one yesterday and it came apart at the end that goes in the computer. $70, which is less than I thought it would be, but not by much. I also bought all my books for ONE class, and a packet for one other class. $150! It's absurd. The Norton Anthology of American Literature (Shorter Sixth Edition) is 2930 pages. I am beginning to think that I could kill a man with it.

I have a headache. I suspect that it's caffine withdrawl. And I've gained weight over the holiday.

The last thing, I guess, is that Fawn sat behind me in my English class, which irritated me, though I imagine most of that springs from my own ridiculously overactive paranoia gland.

In other news:

I spent New Year's with Grandma, which was not bad. I feel good for being such a ridiculously nice person as to spend my New Year with a lonely old lady, but ugh, to have been invited to do anything else! It is a little disheartening to know that a bunch of your friends did something together and you weren't invited. Though a lot of that was whole families gathering together. It's not nearly as bad as a couple of past hurts, but still. Otherwise, I spent more time with Jodi. She came down and kept me company while I finished packing yesterday (she played Oregon Trail), and I got to spend a last little bit of time with Bobby Dylan and took pictures of Roger Daltrey for my sister, who is considering adopting him way off in Chicago.

"Love is Only Sleeping" is probably the most inappropriate song for a Monkees Romp ever. (Romp: the bit in a Monkees episode when people run around in a zany manner to a piece of music.) (I'm watching "Everywhere a Sheik Sheik" and "Monkees in Texas.") (Oh my god, the "Cuddly Toy" video! Oh my god!*) "Words" is also probably inappropriate for a romp. The two romps feature "I Dream of Jeanie"-style-Middle-East swordfighting and an Old West gun fight, respectively. What the fuck, Bob Rafelson? What the fuck. (Ooh, and there's the woman ol' Mike had an affair with! I know too damn much about the Monkees!)

*So, a few people on Dumbrella have made short videos of themselves dancing, which leads me to imagine myself doing the same, although with all sorts of inappropriate songs with a "DID I DO IT RIGHT, YOU GUYS?" tag. Just now I pictured Davy-dancing to "Cuddly Toy," and oh the amusement. (My new digital camera, you see, takes video, too.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top