the weather outside is frightful

12.07.04 @ 8:20 p.m.

There's a lot of stormy weather, to the point where my door has been rattling since this morning due to the wind. It's stopped now, maybe because I closed the screen door so the wind isn't blowing directly against my kitchen door.

The ridiculous thing is that I've been marvelling at this weather all day and it wasn't until a few minutes ago that I remembered that we have finals week storms every year.

No. I'm wrong. Memories of the Who Boy tell me I'm wrong, because I remember sitting down to take a test in rock history and thinking about how I didn't sleep well due to the wind and sneaking peeks at the Who Boy (jesus fucking christ I am really lonely and thinking about him and how I never see him and how nothing ever, ever happens to me mainly due to cowardice is depressing), so then the yearly storm must be at the end of Winter Term.

Oh, who cares. I'm just getting bizarrely nostalgic, and it's probably another attempt by my brain to not do my essay for American Lit.

I've stayed in all day eating, watching TV, and puttering about my kitchen while listening to LPs. It's been a pretty good day because of it. I've also heard Paul McCartney's "Wonderful Christmas Time" on TV ads for the local oldies station so much that I ended up downloading it. Also "Snoopy's Christmas" by the Royal Guardsmen. "Snoopy and the Red Baron" by the same group is one of my childhood favorites.

Oh, I don't think I ever mentioned that I bought a new Pete Townshend LP over Thanksgiving break. I found a copy of Scoop in Turn Around Sound on the cheap and since I have a working record player, I bought it. It's a two disc collection of demos, and I've only listened to a little bit of it. Mainly, I keep listening to Pete demoing "So Sad About Us" which (unfortunately) turns abruptly to a later instrumental called "Brrr." There are liner notes on the inner sleeves and pictures of Pete in his various home studios. You know what? I am going to listen to the demo for "Melancholia" as soon as House goes to a commercial break. It's interesting that the notes say "I'm pretty sure the Who didn't even hear this song" but there is a Roger-sung version on the CD release of The Who Sell Out (the album ICRY is based on! Ah, everything connects up!). Actually, I just listened to the Scoop version (quite nice, very similar to the Who version with some of the usual swapped lines that happens between song versions and some echo and tape effects Towser was playing with) and went downstairs to see if I had a blank tape. I was trying to think of why "Melancholia" has been in my head, and surprise, it's on the Maximum R & B Box Set which I've been listening to for a couple of days. I guess I will have to put this album to tape (probably need to buy more tapes) so I can listen in the car when I drive up to PDX and listen on the elderly boombox in my room at my parents' house.

M! Check your Muswell-Hillbilly.net email address, I sent you my original, early draft of I Can't Reach You.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top