and i'm looking for that free ride to me, i'm looking for you

12.06.04 @ 3:47 a.m.

UNGH.

Most of the folklore paper is written. It is awaiting a quick overview and edit, which is what I mean to be doing right now but am not doing, for some odd reason.

I want to sleep, but at the same time I don't.

What I really want to do is go back and finish writing my two Who stories, which have really recaptured me. For some reason I feel like sending the first draft of I Can't Reach You to M. I'm actually pleased with it, unlike most of my NaNo writing. I wish I knew why that was. I also wish that instead of writing a new Regency, I had spent NaNo viciously finishing Sea and Sand and I Can't Reach You so I could get them the fuck out of my head. It does not help that I read the first two drafts of ICRY, which are fairly different. And the few bits of related fluff I've written when I cannot help myself. I really do write silly things, and yet I think that it is some of my better writing.

Oh, the irony. The writing I don't want to show for content is just that which I'd most like to show for skill. Life is stupid that way! Actually, there are elements in there that I have the same "why did I do this, so dumb" feeling about that I have about large swaths of my NaNovels. Like including Alison in ICRY version 1 or using a couple of people I actually know without changing their first names. Not that they didn't ultimately mutate into Julian and Fiona who are totally different. Julian looks like someone on Dumbrella now. Fiona looks pixie like, one of the 'black Irish' which is to say those with blue eyes and black hair. Ah, I like Fiona even though she has hardly any personality outside of "Julian has been secretly in love with her for ages, not that he doesn't have sex with a lot of models, being a suave photographer for a hip magazine." I guess she must be impressive to hook Julian. But actually, (and this makes no sense to any of you, and I persist!) Fiona's first incarnation was really funny. She had this cool, sophisticated wit that I forgot I was capable of writing.

Ohh, I need to incorporate some of the old elements into the new version, once I actually write a version of Sea and Sand that is scene instead of summary. I need to not ramble about stories no one has ever read except for me.

[title: the bridge of "Bargain" is really the best part. Pickup truck ads have maybe ruined the choruses for me. Or maybe I just don't like them that much anyway.]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top