eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee (words fail me)

11.10.04 @ 9:26 p.m.

Some things need to be said:

OH MY GOD, REGENCY HOUSE PARTY.

Oh my god. What I wouldn't have given to participate in such a thing. I would like to be that short-haired Countess. And Mr. Gorell Barnes is fucking hot. No, seriously. I want to marry him, and it is not just because he is all decked out in Regency finest, shirtpoints and cravat and jackets that are probably not at a Weston level of tailoring, but still.

I am just exploding with joy over this show. Which, I suppose, shows my geekery. Seriously, I am spending all my time making little squeaking noises and clutching things.

Another great thing that happened today was a discussion of The Age of Innocence and at one point my professor decided to throw in a little Yiddish while talking about Newland Archer's relationship with "poor Ellen Olenska," saying that "He'd like to shtup her, really." Everyone tittered, knowing exactly what she meant since it isn't so uncommon a term in America. South African Max looked delighted and astonished. "He'd like to what her? Um, can... can you spell that for me?" His unalloyed delight was just a great thing to see.

(Mr. Gorell Barnes is wearing a hat with big plumes on it and I still want to marry him. I think I want to marry him even more. Ohhh! This is all wonderful, wonderful.)

Unpleasant things that are good in that they're done:

I went to Les Schwab to see if my air-losing tires have leaks. They say no. Which is odd, because I've definately been losing air since Sunday. My parents are starting to wonder if perhaps there are punk kids letting the air out or something, but I don't know. Why my car? The other thing is that my car hasn't been starting some days, and so I had the battery checked. It was no good, so I had a new one put in. So now I do not feel like I need to worry about the car starting from now on.

I also called a property management place and tomorrow I'll go by to look at their listings, hopefully.

I am having sexless orgasms of delight over this PBS program. I am so incredibly geeky.

Brummel! A quizzing glass! Dandyism!!!

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top