from the nanowrimo front lines

11.07.04 @ 12:38 a.m.

Tomorrow morning I am to show my dog for the first time and I'm a touch terrified. I am pretty afraid I will fuck things up badly. But it's a two bit show with almost no points and practically not worth doing, so fuck-ups aren't the end of the world.

I am at 8,418 words as of right now on my NaNovel, which means I'm only a day behind now after two days of skipping writing in favor of midterms. That means I've written 2,000+ each day in the last two days.

But that is not the best part. The best part is that the ending came to me not that long ago. It's dramatic. It suits the genre very well. Unf. I am so happy. So tremendously happy. Well, not TREMENDOUSLY happy, but really damn pleased with myself. Lady Dalton and her son Sir Alistair are getting slimier by the scene, but I'm worried that he's moving a little too fast. Gah. I guess I'll have to introduce some kind of crazy subplot in the middle that I haven't thought of yet. Lady Dalton is so odd. Oh, I just thought of something else. Lady Dalton needs to hit on Simon Reynard pretty heavily. It suits her character really well. I think I'm figuring out who Madeline is, which is not so great because I feel like I should know who my MC is by now, but I don't. She's meek, but she'll bloom. She knows there's something wrong with her situation right now. I think I need to expand on some of the earlier stuff I summarized.

Three pages of summary of the end of the story. That is what happened today in the writing world, and that is the most satisfying thing.

Dad came over last night and we hung out, which was neat, then we went to Albany for the show this morning. Bobby did alright for his first show, no blue ribbons because Bonnie, the breeder we get our corgis from, had a pup in that class, too. I'm proud of him for not freaking out, or at least calming down after a couple of hours. I'm a little sad because he's staying here at the farm from now on instead of in Eugene with me. This week starts the great apartment hunt of 2004.

The thing that gets me is that people get so upset for me with the whole housemate thing and I really don't have that much of a problem with it all right now. I'm actually kind of looking forward to redecorating and rearranging.

I suppose the person who irritates me the most in this manner is my grandmother. She gets so upset over the stupidest things, and almost always things that don't bother the people involved. Me moving, Aunt and Uncle Pretentious having to find a new house themselves, the affairs of the neighbors and just so much other shit. She's manipulative and emotional and she just won't let any fucking thing go. It's absurd. I hate to say that I see a little bit of why my dad treats her with such contempt at times.

We went out to eat tonight, and that was... well, the eating out wasn't special except that I saw the interior of Rock Creek Tavern for the first time since it burned to the ground and was rebuilt. I knew the owners' son when I was in sixth grade and we had his birthday party there. For some reason, my grandma keeps wanting to go to this combination Long John Silver's and Taco Bell, which just sounds like the most repulsive thing I've ever heard of. Not only is Taco Bell crap Mexican food (I have tasted Baja Fresh, I don't know if I can ever go back), but the smell of fish makes me absolutely sick. Just stop and think about it. Taco Bell and Long John Silver's. Ugh.

Conclusion: McMenamins' has pretty decent burgers, everyone goes there for the beers, and the french fries are the worst in the world. Over fried and the skin still left on, no salt... they just taste like burned potato to me.

PS: I will make it back to town in time for the second NaNoEugene meeting! I am happy!

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top