too many things happening, too many ryans

10.09.04 @ 10:32 p.m.

It has been quite an interesting couple of days. Right now I reek of Chinese food.

Yesterday, after much delay and doing laundry (I needed my Robotania shirt for today) and dishes so the ants wouldn't stage a coup while I was gone, I drove up to Corvallis.

Let's talk about how I am a stupid driver. I kind of forgot that windows fog up. It was raining like crazy and mist was coming up off the cars ahead of me. I just thought that the mist was absurdly thick. Ah ha ha. Eventually I realized that the reason I could barely see the lines dividing the lanes was that the windshield was completely fogged up. Whoopsie.

Anyway, Ms. Left-Right Dyslexic would have done just fine with Andrew's directions to his house, had HE not mixed up a crucial left/right moment. So I got a little lost in Corvallis. But it's okay. I got there eventually and before too late. Andrew's parents were there, which I didn't expect. His dad is frickin' crazy. It is a source of constant amusement for me, so long as he never gives me another shirtless hug, because that was so horrifying when it happened last summer. Seriously. I'm not a hug person. IT IS A MILLION TIMES WORSE WHEN IT'S SOMEONE'S WEIRD DAD AND HE IS SHIRTLESS.

I need to stop with the emphasis capitals.

We had enchiladas that were delicious, played Telephone Pictionary and Hoopla, and all that jazz. After basically everyone left except Martha and me, they (Andrew and Martha) decided to bust out the Ouija board. I don't participate, but I am willing to take notes and maybe rephrase a question (Andrew asked so many ambiguous questions!) or inquire after my own future. The only thing I ask is that the freaky, scary questions are not asked. No death questions. Let's not pull a Pam. ("Will any of us be murdered?") Mt. Hood, the board tells us, will erupt in 2009. Martha and I will meet our future husbands at the same time in April of an unspecified year. Her husband will be a model. Mine will be an artist. She will be a linguist. I will be a journalist. Martha will marry a man whose name starts with an S, I will marry a man whose name starts with an M. There followed quite a funny history of Martha's unhappy life. She and her husband will only love each other like friends, and she'll have so many affairs with people we know. Slavik will write a book that is secretly about Martha's marriage. I'm pretty sure that all we do is project our subconscious beliefs onto the board, and when it said that someone will come out of the closet... I guess I'm trying to say that I don't necessarily agree that this person is sublimating his or her 'real' sexuality beneath a facade.

Dang, how long did I just spend talking to Slavik about NaNo and Ouija boards on AIM? I don't know. But a really long time. Possibly half an hour. He managed to freak me out a little. What I wouldn't give to have my dog back right now. Also, why do you need a half-freaking gallon of Pepsi with your KFC?

I couldn't sleep last night. Andrew's apartment was sweltering. I got bumped around a bit in his bed, and his cat kept jumping on me in the night, scaring the hell out of me. When we got up in the morning, we played the Sims 2. Oh my god, the Sims 2. I am deeply jealous that Andrew has a computer that will run that, but I know it would suck away my time worse than Dumbrella does. Martha and I made ourselves and our imaginary husbands. Mine is awfully pretty and has fantastic shag hair (as much as a computer animation can have fantastic hair). The thing is that he... when we (they) bought the house, he did the "Leap into Arms" hug to me (her)... and it just totally made the me character look like the man in the relationship. She initiated the "Try for a Baby" woo-hoo, too. Mmm. It was so fun. Martha's character and mine were friends, though it was disconcerting that everyone kept thinking of my husband.

(WTF. Saturday TV Funhouse: The Ex-Presidents. I wasn't paying tons of attention, but it ended with Ronald Reagan in a heavenly superband on keyboards. Hendrix, Morrison, someone else, and Keith Moon. Reagan ragging on Keith Moon. It's... odd.)

I didn't leave in time for the big event of today, DUMBCONEUGENE. So for all my planning, Fawn and I missed D-o-M, missed the movie, and spent two hours wandering the mall so we could catch up with D-o-M Ryan (Ryan the Younger) when he came out. I felt bad for making us late, but dinner was really fun, and I'm glad that we've at least taken a small step toward hanging out. Dumbrella has this dynamic that's hard to explain. A lot of us have massive geek-knowledge. There is so much talk of Star Trek. Oh, I'm just too tired to make sense. Ryan (Fawn, Ryan the Elder) and I talked a bit about the nature of Dumbrella. We talked about a lot of things. WE HAD TWO HOURS TO FILL BECAUSE I AM BAD AT BEING ON TIME.

It was nice to meet D-o-M, and I really enjoyed spending time and talking with both of them. Hopefully we can make other get-togethers work out.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top