oh no, is it that time of year again?

10.01.04 @ 9:44 p.m.

Ahhh, yes. While I'm not quite ready to replace that "PLACEHOLDER" entry with my actual written record of the South Carolina trip (yes, I am lazy � perhaps tomorrow), today was the first day for NaNoWriMo registration. And while my old account exists (who? what?) and they won't let me delete it, I reregistered as "Quadrophenia."

This year I have a deliberate goal in mind. I am going to research the Regency, properly. I am going to read the books on writing and selling romance that I got from the library. Lastly, I am going to try to write something that I can whip into shape enough to sell. I honestly think I can do this if I put my mind to it.

The whole project, though, will fall by the wayside if it interferes with my school work. This seems unlikely. I'll just drop my Dumbrella consumption and that will probably leave more than enough time to write.

The year before last, I did a lot of prewriting and plot work in October. I'm not sure I did so much on Traveller (it breaks my heart to leave that undone, but I don't really know how to get where I want it to go), but I know I worked and reworked the ideas for Riverwood. Plus it was a genre that has nice, easy tropes and frames to work in. There are expectations. Trav could have gone anywhere. It still can, since I left it with Celeste and Traveller just about to leave Cedar Bend on the body of the story, their journey to the Central Acadamy. Somewhere along the way, I wrote a new scene to put in there where one of Celeste's brothers survives the little battle that precedes her capture.

THAT'S RIGHT. EXPECT MORE OF THIS SORT OF SENSELESS BLATHER IN THE TWO MONTHS TO COME, but especially in November.

THIS YEAR: Regency. Heroine unnamed (I'm thinking Elinor, but I overdo it with the E names, and it makes it look like I'm putting myself in, Mary-Sue style). Hero unnamed.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top