Uh oh.

09.16.04 @ 12:50 p.m.

Hurricane Jeanne looks like it will be eventually headed to Hilton Head island, where my sister's wedding is to take place a week from Saturday.

Greaaaaat. But it sounds like it might die down back into a Tropical Storm by the end of today. I bet my sister is just thrilled.

In other news, I am a 14 year old girl, apparently. I spent a bunch of time last night listening to the Monkees' Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn and Jones, LTD. album last night, then even more time looking through the pictures of Mike Nesmith on my computer (oh so many, certainly more than of Pete Townshend, but I never ran a Who site), and the end result was an extremely innocent dream last night about going on a date to the Zoo with Nez. It was kind of charming, really.

Have you ever had an album for years and never notice something about it? I think last night was the first time I really noticed that Pisces, Aquarius is an extremely Nesmith-heavy album. Think about it, though (as if any of my readers know the least thing about the history of the Monkees!) . . . They had just thrown off the reigns of Don Kirshner with Headquarters, though they were happy enough to be working together peacefully and under the direction of Chip Douglas. Then, boys and girls, Nesmith starts to come out with the control freak tendencies. It is not for nothing that his biography is called Total Control. Also, Nesmith has a staggeringly lovely voice. (Yes, I am biased, but seriously. I do love the sound of his voice.) He'd been repressed by Kirshner for years. No singles unless Micky Dolenz or Davy Jones was the lead vocal. That was the actual rule. Nez was given a couple of tracks per album to keep him quiet. (It was the country tone that doomed him, I think. "Sweet Young Thing," "Papa Gene's Blues," "The Kind of Girl I Could Love," all very country indeed. So Pisces, Aquarius ends up with almost every other track being Mike-sung. Then you have "Daily, Nightly," which is sung by Micky but written by Mike.

And I still haven't decided which song to use off that album for my mix tape.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top