the village green preservation society

09.15.04 @ 9:45 p.m.

I find it interesting that I'm getting a ton more hits, and they're actually... how do I want to say this? Valid? They're hits off actually links (lots of Dumbrella threads, my Dumbrella profile, and Wigu's fanart page) rather than fucked up Google and MSN searches.

I told Dad about my car, which has kind of put a huge damper on the relatively goodness of my day. The mix tape is progressing, but is not yet done. An HP commercial has reawakened me to The Kinks Are The Village Green Preservation Society (mainly the song "Picture Book"). I spent at least an hour, probably an hour and a half in the Knight Library up on the fourth floor, wallowing in 40 year old issues of Vogue and equally elderly copies of the Sears Catalog for inspiration for working on I Can't Reach You, which amounts to a Who Mary-Sue, but I don't care that much about the shame of being involved in fanfic. I don't web publish (okay, I did write one certifiably insane Who fanfic, but that's neither slash nor Mary-Sue, just a burst of weirdness that I couldn't really contain.) Oh shit. I just looked. There is a terrible Mary-Sue by me in existance on the In-tar-web. SHHH. I DID NOT JUST TELL YOU THAT. Anyway, I wrote it literally years ago. God. My Monkees-fandom years. I do embrace the idea of the internet community, don't I? I just throw myself into things.

Um. I've been terribly sidetracked. So I'm writing again, which makes me quite glad. I'm drawing again, but halfheartedly and after a while I got tired of precision and started getting sloppy.

Almost Famous: I had completely forgotten how much I like this movie, having only seen it once since taking my rock history classes (which made a lot of things make more sense and made a lot of things more amusing). Also, William compliments Stillwater for producing their own album instead of having Glynn Johns do it, and I'm sure this is the first time I've gone "Glynn Johns!!" in response. So go me.

Touching Evil Series 2: Man, if you are at all fond of the crime drama (and I so am, being a huge Law and Order and CSI fan), you should take a look at this. And I am not talking about the American remake, which I haven't seen, but how can it be nearly as good? It's a series that they showed on Mystery!, and I have to say, Robson Green is so on my I Would Have 10,000 Of His Babies list. I looooooove Creegan (Green), even though as a character he's totally damaged and would be... not a good person to love. He's very seriously messed up, and convincingly enough to make him quite intriguing.

The last thing that's been on my mind is that I'm fairly convinced that I can write something that I could actually sell to a romance publisher if I put my mind to it. Seriously. I'm going to write a Regency this November (NaNoWriMo) and I'm going to edit and submit it. I am making this as a vow, and not a breakable one like "I am not going to use the internet until 8" and "I am not going to eat two pudding pops in one day." I am seriously going to try my damnedest to get something sold. (Void if school gets too hectic, since that's obviously more important.)

(Also, maybe found a housemate. A German exchange student. We'll see.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top