thinkin' it over

09.11.04 @ 9:53 p.m.

I cannot believe that I haven't written since, what, Wednesday?

Hm. Well. I found out when Moni's party was, of course. Everyone was there... Amy, Moni (durr), Paige, Jessi, Jason (who is this guy? Why does everyone know him except me?), Andrew, Martha, and Cindy. After talking to Moni, I didn't think anyone would arrive until 8ish, and after talking to Amy, we decided to arrive in the middle ground of 7:30. (I brought delicious and ridiculously cheap bakery cookies from Albertson's.) It was one of our sort of parties, a grown up thing where everyone sits around eating and chatting. Every once in a while we need to go on for hours about people we knew in high school, and that was the night for it. "Where are they now" was a popular theme, as well as "Oh man, I had such a crush on him." Then there's "He/She has a baby now," "He/She married [unbelieveable person]!" and "She's a huge coke fiend now." Okay, that was just one person. Who is also suspected of heavy methamphetamine use. Man, it's so classy to live on the edge of HillsBeaverton. I don't think any of us liked that girl, so it was with evil delight that we discussed her (unsurprising) downfall.

During all of this, we played several games of Telephone Pictionary. Martha kept some of the best pages, and I took most of the rest of them. Except the rules I linked to suggest that everyone starts a sheet and the passing is all uniform and carefully worked out and we totally didn't do that. People started sheets at random and they meandered around the circle while we all talked. Oh, and an Invader Zim DVD played in the background for a lot of the night.

Of course, the main focus was Cindy's baby. Marin is cute enough, but I'm not overrun with maternal instinct at the very sight of a baby. I have just made an executive decision not to talk about talking about Cindy's baby, except to reiterate how freakin' weird it is to have a friend of yours have a baby at the age of 21.

I stayed in Portland until Friday so I could go to Uwajimaya with Mom on Thursday night. The sole purpose of the visit was the purchase of masses of vegetable curry. Delicious, House Vegetable Curry. It's the Japanese version of curry and it's one of my favorite meals, though I'm pretty set for a while once I've had it. I also bought Hi-Chew candy, which is nowhere near as good as I remember it being in high school, a can of lemon soda I haven't tried yet, and a bunch of ridiculously cute stationery. And Ridiculouly Cute things don't match my character at all. It ceases to be surprising when I say that it's almost all corgi puppy stuff, except a Tarepanda mechanical pencil. On closer examination, the puppy things are slightly creepy because I think the pictures were digitally altered so the eyes are really round.

It was really, really hard to say goodbye to Bobby Dylan. I left him with his brother, Roger Daltrey, but I hope that Dad will eventually sell Roger (not Bob, which he threatens to do since I "don't love him enough to keep him in Eugene") because he deserves a loving home. He's a sweet pup, and he was my favorite when they were tiny. Ultimately, I don't feel that bad in making Bobby a kennel dog. Most of the show dogs are or started out as kennel dogs rather than house dogs. I still want to show him and get him trained up. I really want to finish him. Champion Bob Dylan of Hidden Forest. It would be nice. Sadly, I am not nearly so familiar with what makes a quality Corgi as I am with the essential characterisitics of German Shepherds.

Um. All I've been doing here is cleaning, cleaning, cleaning. At least, I have today. Yesterday I think I did almost nothing. I used the computer a lot and made curry after driving down from Portland. Of course, after a day of doing jack (after a trip to visit parents and do much the same), I'm frantic (well, not too much if I'm not working even now) to get everything cleaned up AND I'm suddenly eager to make a mix tape for Jessica in Rhode Island. I want to use tracks from Who Came First and a few other LPs I have now as well as some CD tracks (namely John Entwistle, but maybe some Rough Mix, maybe a track of Quadrophenia, but which one? "I'm One"? "Punk and the Godfather"? Almost definitely a track off Psychoderelict [Music Only].) There are two highlights to my day: Big Scary American Girl remixed my Dumbrella avatar from a Quadrophenia poster to a Quadrophenia poster with everyone's head replaced with a corgi pup head or the head of Hypnocorgi and Hypnobasset (both from Ferocious J's Dogblog, which is well worth a little look-see) AND I saved myself from having to climb into a cabinet full of mouse poo (you would not believe how much mouse poo there was, seriously, it boggles the mind) with the clever use of a Swiffer purchased by someone in the Casa Di Harris Street. I shortened the handle (it's all conveniently segmented) and used one of the Swiffer Wet things I found in the cabinet. I can't really imagine Ena purchasing it; I suspect her mom bought it. I think I don't imagine Ena buying it because she never used it and maybe even looked a little astonished by its existance in our house.

So! No crawling into a cabinet full of mouse poops! I did get OCD enough to remove the label and scrub all the cans that got crawled over and dirtied (I relabled them with a permanent marker) and threw away almost everything else. MOUSE DISEASES, people, MOUSE DISEASES.

I need more food. A single Hot Pocket did not suffice my too-lazy-to-cook-properly ass.

[John Entwistle title track because it's stuck in my head.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top