take another little piece of my heart

09.08.04 @ 12:26 p.m.

I'm such an attention whore today. I deliberately sent an email to the Rick Emerson show signed "Girl Star Wars Geek" again just to hear the reaction. I'm happy, because it worked, and although I'm conscious of having purposely baited for compliments/attention, it was such a gigantic ego boost. Before they even read the email (it was a big geek segment, talking about the new SW DVDs, which I'll get to soon), he read my closer and the three (Rick, Clyde, Aaron) men on the program were just all... I don't know if I can write the noise out. It's the noise Homer Simpson makes in anticipation for food. Mmmm... aughughughugh. Then they were all self mocking about being such geeks that they'd react that way even though they had no idea what I looked like. I think Rick said something like "For all we know, she's nothing but stumps!" And yet.

I feel very shallow for being this delighted, but fuck it. I'll enjoy being completely without depth for once in my life.

The whole body of the email was "I think I just died a little inside." Why, you ask. Well, you don't ask, but I'm going to pretend, damn it.

Lucas, I'm told, has taken another giantic hacking cut at the precious Star Wars Trilogy. (I need to go out and find a pre-special edition set of tapes at resale stores, I think.) The first and most egregious change that they discussed was the addition of Hayden Christensen in the ghost scene at the end of Jedi. What the fucking fuck. (Apologies to Liz because I know you dig him, and a lot of the blame for the horror that is AotC is due to George Lucas being a fucking hack screenwriter.) Did they put in Ewan McGregor as Obi-Wan? No. So what logic is there to putting in a young Anakin? It makes no goddamn sense. It's just the most pointless thing ever. They 'cleaned up' a lot of things, but that's wrong altogether. Leave well enough alone. Please. George Lucas, why do you have to take the one good thing you did (well, okay, I'll grant Indiana Jones as well) and fuck it up for all eternity, pissing off your legion (ex)fans? They also supposedly redubbed Boba Fett's voice with Temuera Morrison, the actor who played Jango Fett in AotC. Seriously, what is wrong with Lucas? Has he suffered a stroke? A severe blow to the head? Or has his ego just swelled so much that it's burst all his logic circuits? Why don't we just fucking well dub out James Earl Jones and replace his voice with Hayden's? Huh?

Why don't we just destroy anything that's sacred in this culture?

I suppose I'm irrationally bitter, but good god. The revisionist actions of Lucas just enrage me. I'm honestly thinking of making a t-shirt out of a "Han Shot First" design from Dumbrella. But then, I'm also considering ordering John A (of Scary Go Round)'s "Saddest Wookiee" shirt before he gets a cease and desist from Lucasfilm. What stalls me is the fact that I already have several (3, I think) Star Wars t-shirts. I don't want to overdo it.

I'm frustrated because I don't know what's going on with Moni's party. So I think I better get off the internet in case someone wants to call.

Edit: Here's a rant from Aaron (mentioned above) on George Lucas' brutal stabbing of our youth.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top