happy jack

08.24.04 @ 10:30 a.m.

Two things that are causes for silly, happy joy:

#1:

DUDE! I just had an email read on the Rick Emerson show, which makes me happy. There was news today, Star Wars news that made a lot of people unhappy. It looks like the Sequel Trilogy for Star Wars will actually get made. So I, determined to get an email read on the show before I leave for Eugene and can't really listen to it anymore, wrote in and said "Remember the days when news of Star Wars 7, 8, & 9 weren't a cause for mass horror? Damn you, George Lucas." And I signed it with my first name and "Girl Star Wars Geek Extraordinare." (There was also a postscript about being an internet nerd and just having to acknowledge that if there is any kind of sexual fetish/interest/weird-ass thing you can think of, a website already exists.)

It makes me kind of giddy that when "Girl Star Wars Geek Extraordinare" he said "Hel-lo." (I don't think I'm getting all this across well. Sorry.)

I like the idea that geek culture is getting so popular and hip (although the whole reason I listen to the RE show is because Rick is a huge pop culture geek, so it might not be such a good example of mainstream acceptance) that the idea of girl geek seems to be inherently sexy.

#2

After politely refusing a gmail invite from Slavik (which I later mildly regretted), I gave in and took one of the Dumbrella invites floating around. maximumrandb(at)gmail (Quadrophenia was taken and I didn't want to compromise with numbers, etc.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top