dress quest

08.21.04 @ 8:58 p.m.

Shopping! I finally found my dress for my sister's wedding, and it's lovely. I intend to take pictures eventually. The pattern is in dark red and brown on cream, so it's good for fall. It has a little velvet ribbon across the waist and the skirt kind of flares out. Well, I suppose the best way to describe it is to say that after I combine it with the little abbreviated cardigan I also bought today (3/4 sleeves, very high waist, one button at the top so it kind of hangs open), I look like I stepped off the set of Pleasantville. Which pleases me well enough! I look adorable. Next quest: Shoes.

Not that it was particularly easy to get said dress. We went to Target first, where I tried on several cheap polyester/spandex blend dresses, only one of which fit properly (lovely 1940s-ish wrap dress just would not close without exposing bra and rather too much bosom) which I didn't like all that much. I did manage to buy a black t-shirt with the Rolling Stones "Established 1962" logo on it for cheap. (Did I mention I bought a Mr. Yuk ringer a few days ago? I love it.) We went to Nordstrom's Rack after. It seemed like a wasteland and I went through a whole rack of dresses that were, without exception, hideous. It was really horrible. Luckily, I found a rack that had, uh, Donna Ricco dresses, I think. All originally $99, all now $30. The dressing rooms were a madhouse, quite a long line for private rooms. Ladies were rushing back to the communal room. I can't really comprehend using the communal room. Especially one that was hugely crowded. I guess I'm not a "stand about in my undergarments in front of strangers" kind of girl. (I am tempted to write "At least, not strangers who aren't paying, hurr hurr.") The weird thing is that my aunt passed by me in line, quite willing to go to the communal room while I waited.

I suppose the most entertaining bit would be where I was trying on my lovely dress, barely having got it on. But oh, it was so pretty! So I tried to get it off again. Er. *struggle struggle unzip* *tries to pull off dress over hips* FAILURE. *tries to pull dress off upward, over boobs* HORRENDOUS FAILURE, MAYBE SOME LITTLE RIPPING NOISES. Ohhhhh crap. I stood there somewhat convinced I was going to have to rip the fucking dress off and pay for it. Eventually I scooted it around back to front (the top was all hanging down around my waist). Well! The zipper wasn't undone all the way. It sticks a little at the waist, and had stuck there when I put it on, too. Ah hah. I'm a moron. It came off just fine, and I was overjoyed because it meant I could buy the pretty dress without destroying it.

The rest of my afternoon was spent watching Evil Dead. Bruce Campbell is fucking awesome. He has terrible hair in ED1, but still. It's so odd to see him being anything but a total badass (having watched Army of Darkness a good half a dozen times) in the face of demons/zombies. He looks so young! Still, the movie is outrageously bloody, to the point where it almost gets funny. Of course, my dad had to come into my room and watch the movie with me during the scene where the girl gets raped by the tree. Faaaaaaaaaaaantastic.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top