ba da da da da da, you say it's your birthday

08.21.04 @ 12:10 a.m.

Today was my friend Andrew's birthday. He's 21, which, for many, would mean boozing like crazy. Oh, but not for us. Last night I got a call from Andrew telling me to come by "anytime after 2." Over email was talk of anime, which made me reluctant to go at all. Martha wasn't attending because of wedding things, Moni's in Eugene, etc. It was just Andrew, various members of his family (some I hadn't met before), Jessi, Paige, and this guy Jason who is kind of a gutterpunk/goth/geeky anime kid and who has hung out with Paige and Jessi for ages now. I find it odd when he comes to our gatherings, but whatever. I got a piece of metal taken out of my tire for no charge at Les Schwab, who patched it and said "Just come to us when you need new tires, dig?" except without the stupid beatnik slang that no one uses except me and other classic rock/sixties geeks. I shopped about, buying a Barrel of Monkeys for Andrew.

I made him a card on construction paper, admonishing him to not eat the 'deliciously realistic' line drawing of a cake since I didn't want to be responsible for tonsil paper cuts. I also wrote a little note congratulating him on no longer being banned from anyplace due to age, except the presidency and the American Association of Retired People. Yeah. I wrote it while in IM conversation with a Dumbrellite, which was kind of interesting, since it hasn't happened before. (Today has been a big IM day, with conversations with Candace and my friend Rachel.)

Mom bought me a prepaid cell phone for emergency use. I don't really have anything to say about it. It's just there.

So I drove down to get some photos I had waiting at the grocery store, arsed up getting out of the parking lot by driving into a little enclosed bit, and eventually made it to Amy's house. She led the way to Andrew's. This was harrowing, since we got a car between us on the freeway and then she got all excited by "Ice Ice Baby" being on the radio and wasn't concentrating on driving, so she ended up going very fast down Mountaindale Road (which is of moderate twistiness) and I was alternating between freaking out that I'd lose sight of her and that I'd lose control of the fucking car on the curves and die upside down in a farmer's field. Still, I got there okay. Andrew's dad was wandering around shirtless (unsurprising) and had grown a ponytail since I last saw him. Huge amounts of food were cooked, and lots of people Andrew's parents' age were also invited and had their own separate party, which are also both usual. We all had a very grown up dinner party, really. it was mostly sitting around and talking and eating. I left when anime tapes were about to be watched (I'm so not a fan) and twilight was descending. I didn't want to drive home in the dark, so I left.

Well, I ended up driving home in the dark anyway. Only I decided to go the back way instead of the freeway, missed the turn on North, missed the turn I could have taken on Commercial to correct the first mistake, crossed over the freeway, and eventually had to turn around in a driveway. Jesus. It was a little worrying. I wasn't even sure I needed to take North to get home, but I was fairly sure. I knew Commercial would get me home. Well, whatever. I eventually got home, driving the back streets with my window down for once (instead of the blessed air conditioning), playing Modest Mouse at immodest volume. I wish I could explain my infatuation with that album. Meh. I'm also equally infatuated with Queen. I think I'm just going through a phase of eclectic infatuation.

I need to reset my body rhythms so I can stay up late again. Work is done, and while I gave a gentle, quiet "Fuck you, I'm never coming back" to the school yesterday, I had to go back today because, like a moron, I left my radio and my sweatshirt there.

Terrible design that you just have to look at

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top