i want to break free

08.01.04 @ 5:30 p.m.

There's something that struck me right at this very minute that seems very weird to me. This morning I had an extremely vivid dream about being... uh, persistantly courted by I don't really know... someone who is massively interested in the Who and told me how awesome the Isle of Wight performance is. (A former professor of mine, which is what made it odd and unsettling. I think y'all know who I mean.)

Well. Today my parents and I went to go see Spiderman 2, and what was in the window of the ticket booth? An ad for a screening of The Who Live at the Isle of Wight 1970 a week from tomorrow!. Isn't that kind of staggering? The connection only just came to me.

The dream was unnervingly vivid, and I think it might be somehow related to the fact that I slept solidly for a good 10 or 11 hours last night. That's a lot more than I usually sleep. I can't really go into detail, because I can't remember that much. I was living in an odd, white, ramshackle little house with a bunch of people I've never met before. My door had curtains over it, in addition to an actual door. I kind of want to banish it from my mind, because... it's making me uncomfortable to think about it.

Yesterday was Fl�gtag, and I got brutally sunburned. It was a ton of fun, though, watching people pilot their good, bad, and stupid aircraft into the river. Some things didn't even try to fly, like the wheeled scottie dog that be-kilted Team Brave piloted into the Willamette. It was great when one team got out of the water and the smarmy morning newsperson asked one how he liked the water. Team Member A said rather sarcastically that it was lovely and clear. Then Smarmy Newsman asked Team Member B what kept him from the river up until this point, where TMB replied, "Uh.... the sewage?" (The Willamette River is unmistakeably nasty. It's the most polluted river west of the Mississippi.) The jerky people working there took away my ratings sign, which I had intended to keep so I could rate anyone or anything from 1-10. Possibly one of the coolest things was that Martha and I killed the time running up to the first flight by playing MASH on one another. This in itself is not so fantastic, but a bald guy in sunglasses came up to us enthusiastically when Martha was done establishing my future and asked us excitedly what the results were. Even better, he came back when I was done with Martha's, then told me I gave her a better life than she gave me. He was really funny. We also played Hipster Bingo and our own take on it, Judgemental Bingo.

We also got Subway on the way to the park and had ourselves a little picnic, as well as going to Victoria's Secret to cash in a "Free panties for you and up to six friends" card that Andrew's boyfriend gave to Martha. Post-Fl�gtag, we went to Saturday Market to see if I could find some earrings I wanted. I did see them, but was disenchanted. I bought a Tom Waits postcard for Ena, and have to await an email with her mailing address to send it to her.

I suppose I should review Spiderman 2, but I reckon most people have seen it, and what is there to say except I like the superhero movies, at least the Spiderman and X-Men ones. I guess I just get to revel in having predicted that Tobey McGuire as Peter Parker would not suck like a lot of my friends thought he would. We all enjoyed it. I got cold in the theater and spent a good portion of the movie snuggling my mom for warmth. There was a baby in the theater at the end, which made me mad. IF YOU HAVE A CRYING BABY, TAKE IT OUT INTO THE FUCKING HALLWAY, IT'S ONLY POLITE!

Oh yeah, and I am encountering Queen everywhere. The new C2 ad they're playing in the abomination they call "The Twenty" before movies is now using "I Want to Break Free."

Rock the Queen.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top