(contents) under pressure

07.29.04 @ 7:01 p.m.

I know now that I'm not going to get my California stuff typed up, so here are the California highlights:

-Very little sleep, as I had to share a room with my mom who snores louder than you would fucking believe possible. I had to wear earplugs to sleep the rest of the trip. And the air conditioning got turned off at night, so it was also hard to sleep because of the stiflingly hot air.

-My grandma's house is full of little relics of the fifties and sixties. An electric lady's razor with a retro flower design (and that I longed to steal); a box of spackle/patching plaster whose package design screamed late fifties/early sixties. And so on. Also lots of books on popes, politics, and Ireland.

-I spent more time with my cousin and his parents than any other trip, except maybe that one time when Eamon was like 4 years old and they came to stay with us in PDX. He's a funny kid, very serious and grown up. I think he might grow up to be a heartbreaker. Also, he calls his parents "Jim and Kel" instead of "Mon and Dad" and has for, oh, years upon years. I can't remember him ever calling them "Mom and Dad."

-I went to the Norton Simon museum and saw a half dozen Picassos and so many Degas sculptures and paintings that I think I failed to absorb a lot of it. Also, my aunt, my cousin, and his parents came along with Mom and I, which actually sucked because everyone got bored with the paintings I really like (17th-19th century) and wanted to move on, so I felt rushed and unhappy. I long to go back.

(I'm watching the Democratic National Convention. Yes, I'm getting political. Heck, I already have a Kerry sticker on the Toyota. Dad covered up his "Keep Portland Weird" sticker and has Kerry on either side of his bumpers.)

-Speaking of politics, I finally saw Farenheit 9/11 with my mom and aunt. It didn't change my political views, since they already pretty much agreed with the film, but hoy lord, if you're an American citizen, you need to get out and (register to) vote or I can't be friends with you anymore. (I hear now that Townshend got in a tussle with Moore, who wanted to use "Won't Get Fooled Again." Which is a fucking stupid mistake on Moore's part, really. "WGFA" is completely the opposite message of what he wants to give, what with the second verse's disillusion with revolution.) (Rhyme time!)

-I am lucky In-N-Out Burger doesn't exist in this state, or I would be morbidly obese, because sweet mother of god, their burgers are that good.

("I'm John Kerry and I'm reporting for duty." Don't overdo it, John.)

-I read The Partly Cloudy Patriot by Sarah Vowell, which is fantastic. Also, Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris. I think the first half was better than the second, but they're both incredibly funny.

-We went to a Botanical Garden (boring) and a delicious Italian restaurant in Claremont. I realize that I quite like spinach as a salad component and as an ingredient in other food. Who'd've guessed?

-Down the street was Rhino Records Claremont. It was wonderful, huge, but not as big as Music Millennium on Burnside. I bought a John Entwistle solo album on CD (Whistle Rymes, which is very good and very John, I think I already said) and two vinyl records. Who Came First by Townshend and Two Sides of the Moon by Keith Moon, mostly because it's notoriously awful. Too bad I don't have a functioning record player right now. But I have plans, oh yes I do.

-I had music withdrawl, which was awful, but I remedied it with my iPod and being antisocial for an evening.

-I got sick of TV, if that's possible for a pop culture junkie like myself.

-My grandma has this weird idea that I'm some kind of giantess, and I felt like one for the rest of the week, after I was told.

Okay. I really ought to be paying better attention to Kerry. Rick Emerson's radio show fascinates me while I work all day. Work which is really awful of late because I'm stuck with just Boss John (Asshole Boss) for another week. He's been pretty good lately at not pissing me off, but I still don't like him and want to quit so very badly.

Oh! And I made a Lego me.

Of course it was a Dumbrella thing.

[Later I shall probably go on at length at how I am insanely infatuated with "Under Pressure" by David Bowie featuring Queen.]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top