yesterday's papers

06.25.04 @ 10:30 p.m.

I take so long to write, but I guess that's because nothing interesting happens.

Two days ago, Ena called me up (and the freaky thing is that I had a strong feeling that it was her when the phone rang and I was prediction which songs would come next while my iPod was on random all day... good day for prediction!) and told me she was coming to Portland, did I want to meet up so she could bring me my Who magazine? Fuck yes, I do want my Who magazine. She'd be there sometime after I got home from work, she said.

Work comes, work goes. My bosses have a kind of light assholery to them that I find hard to qualify. Boss John is just generally harsh and rude, Boss Gary has done a million nasty things to his children as a result of being completely inflexible. The point is that I don't like them. So yesterday I got home tired and annoyed that they were trying to bait me and eventually intend to make me recycle something like $40 worth of cans so we can all go out to lunch one day. I don't want to do this. I really don't like my job, though it is mostly tolerable. I get home stressed and sore and tired, and though it's not very fair to my parents, I'm generally in no mood to put up with any shit. So yesterday afternoon, Mom was, I guess, in the same kind of mood I was and just started going at me when I said I would just as soon not go to lunch with them at all, partly because I don't particularly like them and don't like socializing. Fucking hell. She kept telling me I was being stupid and arbitrary and narrow and, well, she doesn't know them, does she? The upshot is I ended up crying like crazy because I too-frequently have an emotional hair-trigger and start crying just about any time I get angry.

So I looked a total wreck when Ena and her friend from Taiwan showed up. It did not help things when I was trying to pull myself together in the bathroom and was having a minor panic attack because I couldn't breathe (I kept sucking in huge gasps of air and being unable to let them out again right away) and she kind of made things worse by basically telling me to stop having trouble breathing, then, like it was my choice. What the fuck.

Ho hum. I took Ena and her friend to Skyline, which is my favorite burger place and hasn't really changed at all since the fifties. Prices have risen, but I'd guess that that's about it. I think they were at least a little pleased because the friend had been (allegedly) complaining that he hadn't gotten any "traditional American food" yet.

Afterwards we went to Powells, where I spent $20 despite knowing I should wait for another time when we have the giftcard. That's okay, there's a $20 Who biography that I want that I haven't gotten yet. What I did buy was a book simply called The Who full of pictures that was put together by Jeff Stein (director of TKAA) and a fellow called Chris Johnston. That is the one that I found the wonderful artifact in (which I shoved in another book that I was going to buy on another trip) - a torn ticket stub to a 1976 Who concert in Oregon. I need to find that and scan it. Mostly, I bought this book because it's full of pictures of Who's Next era Pete. I also quite like that the Who let the photographers backstage though they were merely "fanatical Who admirers," not the press or anything like that. I also bought a cheap copy of High Fidelity in paperback, so I finally have a chance to read it. I always had to return it to the library before I could get through it. Lastly, I bought a copy of Found magazine, issue #3.

Oh yes. I watched Rushmore again a couple of days ago. Wes Anderson has cemented his place of honor in my mind once I realized that, though the version on the soundtrack is the Live at Leeds version of "A Quick One While He's Away", the one in the movie is the glorious TKAA version. The Rock and Roll Circus version.

There are some kind of big birds of prey outside being loud, and it's late at night. I'm really hoping my parents put the puppies away and no one is going to get, like, eaten by an owl. Supposedly, I'm going to take Dylan with me to Eugene. Not too certain yet.

I was going to go see Hedwig and the Angry Inch with Martha tomorrow, but we decided to cancel because she can't go tomorrow and I didn't think I had the stamina to go out at 9:30 tonight. As it is, I'm kind of doing the whole "staring into space and not really being able to move my eyes" thing I do when I get tired. My brain kind of disengages, too. Instead, we're going shopping in the afternoon. I would like to see Farenheit 9/11 this weekend, but as I understand it, every damn theater in this town is sold out until about next Thursday. I still haven't seen Harry Potter, which is a bit shocking.

Now to make up the corgi page. Goddamn. I don't want to make up a pedigree for these dogs.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top