clock goes slow in the place of work, minutes drag and the hours jerk

06.18.04 @ 5:43 p.m.

The Who had had a number of Top 10 hits and were attracting screaming young teenage girls into their predominantly male audience. "We wanted to be appreciated for our music instead of screaming girls," claimed John. "Sometimes we'd do things to put off the 'screamers' from coming to see us. We'd occasionally sing 'Talking 'bout my Masturbation' and 'Prostitute' instead of 'Substitute'...

There's more to that passage, but I don't like it as much as I like the part I quoted. It's from Maximum R&B. It's full of adorableness and might well help me write "I Can't Reach You," if I ever get around to working on it again. For one, I'm just not writing that much anymore (though I did work on an old multi-fandom-crossover which makes me ashamed because I generally hate crossovers -- but it's okay, because I write only to please and entertain myself), but the other thing is that I would like to write "Sea & Sand" first, since they're contiguous and have the same main character. It's like... a two volume story. The only thing that distresses me about working on these two is that it keeps me from working on something original, which would be much better.

I suppose I could take my first draft of my first year's NaNovel to work and edit it on my breaks.

Speaking of work, I had a crazy, depressed, crying "I hate my fucking job" thing yesterday afternoon. It's just so tiring. I get home every day after feeling like I've just gone through the longest damn day in the history of the world and I ache. My feet and hips hurt from standing and walking and carrying all day. I'm covered in bruises from wrestling desks around and boxes, but the worst two are on my forearms from where goddamn Boss John (I don't like him anymore since he's making me clean bathrooms, but Boss Gary is back in charge on Monday) tried to see if I could move a massive filing cabinet. The actual bruises are from the hand truck (with 80 tons of filing cabinate pressing down on it) being smashed into me. I managed to hold the motherfucker up long enough for Boss John to get ahold of it himself.

Today was not so bad, but I still don't like it. I suppose it's not the best to go from not working at all to full-time, physically demanding job.

Thunder, lightning (the way you love me is frightnin'! heh) outside! Quite exciting. It means it's getting nice and cool. I want to play with the puppies outside, but I don't want to mess about in a thunderstorm. Maybe I'll bring a pup inside, but there is the risk of poop.

[Clash lyric! "The Magnificent Seven."]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top