i think we're okay, but we all could be mad

06.15.04 @ 10:10 p.m.

I... think I haven't written in a couple of days. I'm pretty sure I didn't write yesterday.

Today felt like the longest day in the history of the world. Maybe it's just that work is boring. Maybe it's that I feel self conscious about slacking off and wandering around with no aim, no tasks to do. So I work maybe a little too industriously. Which is just the opposite of what you would expect from me.

Custodial work is dull, incredibly dull. Yesterday was my first day with the district, and after three hours of OSHA-type lecturing and obvious "durr, don't bring drugs to school, don't wear sandals because some idiot ran over his or her foot with a floor buffer last year" stuff, I managed to get a ride to the school where I'm assigned. My two supervisors this year are Boss Gary and Boss John. Boss Gary looks like a caricature of a mole, with the thick glasses that magnify the eyes. Just like Keith from last year, at least on the glasses. At least Boss Gary doesn't spit when he talks and is comprehensible, unlike Keith with his thick British accent. Boss John is much younger, probably on the far side of 30. The two of them spent all day badmouthing teachers and administrators. Boss Gary apologizes to me after saying "kicking butt and taking names," worrying that he'll say something that offends me, while (away from Gary), John keeps up a constant, muttered commentary, mostly classifying all the junk we were hauling out of hallways as "crap, crap, shit, more shit..."

Anyway. Yesterday wasn't too hard, but it felt long, too. Not as long as today, since I had all that lecture stuff. The move crew, which has at least one boy from my grade and high school, came to get rid of massive bookshelves. I hid at first, boxing books that the librarian had neglected to take care of. Afterwards I felt good and capable because I disected the shelves so the muscle boys could move it.

The thing about going through the books was that it sparked a longing to reread the Indian in the Cupboard books. And I was a little surprised to realize just how many Goosebumps books I recognized.

Today we took 45 minutes for our 15 minute break. I don't like the way I feel obligated to break with them, I'd just as soon find a little nook and write something, read a little. Instead I either sit awkwardly in the staff room with them or read. Yesterday I didn't have access to my book at second break and found a playground ball in the room and practiced spinning it for 15-20 minutes.

I don't look forward to tomorrow. Moving furniture all day. Only Boss John, no Boss Gary. Somehow, this makes me mildly uncomfortable.

Nnnngh.

[Title comes from the Pete Townshend song "Keep On Working."]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top