portland, oregon and slow gin fizz / if that ain't love, then tell me what is

06.10.04 @ 9:13 p.m.

Ray Charles died, and someone posted a message on Psychodelic Phoenix that bemoaned his death (which I agree with, Ray Charles was awesome) and "the greatest president of my lifetime, Ronald Reagan." Um, NO. WTF. He was not that great. Now the Republicans can step up their plans to name every fucking thing after him. JESUS CHRIST. And it's so funny that they're like "Oh, American hero is dead! What shall we do without him?" like he hasn't been out of commission for years. I quite liked the Onion headline that said "Reagan's body dies." Because it's exactly how I feel.

Ray Charles was cool. That's the important thing.

I think I just fucked over my back by hauling my laundry bag (full of clean clothes, almost everything I own except the more wintery stuff) out to Ena's car a little while ago. She and Roxy just left to see a foreign movie because it was the last showing and Ena forgot until just a little while ago. This kind of sucks because Roxy was all wanting to see The Kids Are Alright and I was quite looking forward to watching it with her. But we might stay up late tonight or get up tomorrow morning and watch it then.

It is, perhaps, a good thing, as I'm supposed to be packing to go back to PDX tomorrow. I have too damn much stuff. I am, in fact, leaving a lot of it here, including one of my guitars (the acoustic, of course). It's just... I have no idea what I'll need or want over the summer, so I'm reluctant to leave anything behind. I mean, it guarantees that I WILL need it, doesn't it? It's an effort of willpower to leave a lot of the books. I'm taking Beatles Anthology back to PDX so I can leave it there. I don't use it as a reference that often.

Something is wrong with our oven. The last two times I've baked something, it's come out underdone. Gaah. Cinnamon rolls: inedible, due to me not checking the done-ness before icing them. The brownies I made tonight had to be put back in for a good 20 minutes. I guess the secret with this oven is to bump temperatures up 25� rather than down 25�, which is the rule with the oven at home.

I'm delaying the inevitable. Back to packing.

[Title: Lyric from "Portland, Oregon," the Loretta Lynn/Jack White duet off Lynn's Van Lear Rose]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top