killer queen

06.06.04 @ 7:52 p.m.

Fun things to think of while I put off writing my Chaucer final paper (worry not, I've at least done the basic reading):

� I've become enamoured of Freddie Mercury's voice and thus spent part of this morning acquiring seven new Queen songs, so now I have 8. Which makes a very short hits CD, but whatever. I plan to buy a proper one when I get back to PDX, or I'll go straight for the albums and skip the Greatest Hits business. [EDIT: I'm thinking, after looking at Allmusic, A Night at the Opera and the best listed Greatest Hits.] Seriously, Queen makes me giddy-happy. I think this is in some small part due to my undying love of the book Good Omens, which brings forth the theory that any cassette tape left in a car for more than a fortnight morphs into a Best of Queen album.

From the Good Omens:

"Nothing about him looked particularly demonic, at least by classical standards. No horns, no wings. Admittedly, he was listening to a Best of Queen tape, but no conclusions should be drawn form this because all tapes left in a car for more than about a fortnight metamorphose into Best of Queen albums. No particularly demonic thoughts were going through his head. In fact, he was currently wondering vaguely who Moey and Chandon were".

Seriously, this is an awesome, awesome book that I recommend to anyone who hasn't had their sense of humor surgically removed.

� I had a delightful dream about attending a boarding school with Pete Townshend. I was working on a garden. He threw a swivel chair in a swimming pool.

Ferocious J of Dumbrella posted his engagement theory in the Diesel Sweeties forum and I think it is basically the greatest thing ever:

I don't have an engagement story so much as a theory or proposal --

I'm not so hot on the idea of the wicked-expensive ring with the diamond; when was the last time anybody you knew actually checked to see if the diamond was real? I mean yeah, I'd definitely want to get my lady a pretty ring, but I'd rather spend the big cash on a different kind of promise -- something along the lines of "Honey, here's this ring, but also, I will go out right now and buy you every single CD you've ever wanted, and I promise that as long as we are together, you have but to speak a wish out loud, and within 24 hours, the album you want will be in your hands." I suppose this is dependent on how much she likes music, though, not to mention the size of her collection.

� I bought a half-priced "I'm a rocker. I rock out." shirt from another Dumbrellite last night.

I basically love the world right now. All of the above contribute.

And I can maintain this feeling despite having 750 words due tomorrow morning for Chaucer!

EDIT: Oh, and before I go mad, someone tell me what movie (TV show episode?) has a male character walk out into the street after a successful interview with the lady he cares for (at night), feeling triumphant, with "We Are The Champions" playing in the background?

(Also, I'm not going to go crazy with Queen like I have with the Who -- I will put this (appropriately) on a level with my fondness for The Darkness.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top