playing catch-up

06.05.04 @ 6:38 p.m.

Whoa there. I missed a few days, didn't I? I can't remember Wednesday night, so I guess it isn't important. In the last few days, Ena and I have watched the first four volumes of the A&E/BBC version of The History of Tom Jones, A Foundling (the actor playing Tom looks like a cross between Ewan MacGregor and Lt. Tom Paris of Star Trek: Voyager) and I rather imagine we'll watch the last two volumes tonight. Or not. Ena just asked if I wanted to watch Four Weddings and a Funeral in a little while.

Thursday... Hmm. Well, I ended up slightly altering the passage I was going to read for Chaucer (lines 257-77 of the Wife of Bath's Prologue), which was good because it was a nice little chunk of 21 lines. We had to have a minimum of 20 with some kind of natural division. No ending in the middle of a sentence. I didn't rehearse a whole lot more than the last time I had to go in and read, but I didn't worry my pretty little head about marking scansion, either, so I could just read it in what felt like the natural poetic rhythm to me and tried emphasis so it made sense. Whatever. I got to the professor's office just at the time of my appointment and was all out of breath from taking the stairs, so I had to wait a minute to get my breath back. The whole thing took about three minutes.

I kicked that exam's ass. A-. Pretty good, considering that I had been told during the tutoring session that I was doing C work with my reading.

That night I knew I had to work on my Italian homework, but I didn't get much done. Ena and I watched two of those Tom Jones episodes and I made a mess of making cinnamon rolls. (Undercooked, added frosting, realized they were overcooked, spent a lot of time trying to rebake them without carmelizing the icing, etc.) My Italian paper was kind of crap and I wasn't prepared at all because I had "lost" the paper with the oral topics and the paper assignment. ("Lost" meaning set it on an end table and didn't find it there until I got back from the exam on Friday.) I think I actually did alright on the exam there. Enrico and I talked about how stressful my week was and radio stations. Enrico loves him some Led Zeppelin and so listens to the same classic rock station that I do. I got to spend some time explaining that I didn't listen to the radio before a month or two ago because I couldn't find a station I liked.

I will miss Enrico.

Yesterday was actually pretty lovely. I met with the two girls I am now HOPING want to live here because I want this just done with. After that, Ena was restless, so we went up to Skinner's Butte and looked at the city for a little while, then went to a rose garden and walked along the river in the park across the river from Valley River Center (the mall). It was nice and we chatted. After that, Ena was starving (I was not so hungry), so we went to order a pizza for pick up and to Blockbuster for Return of the King. That was last night: Pizza and hobbits. (Shh, I *heart* Faromir.)

Today, not so good. I have dealt with lady pain more severe than any I can ever remember. I spent a good deal of the morning lying on my bed crying and shaking and cursing. And wondering when the fuck the ibuprofen was going to kick in. That ate up a lot of the day. I'm doing masses of laundry, too.

I am listening to Led Zeppelin. Che sorpresa. They're okay, but I don't quite love them yet. I have heard "Immigrant Song" five squillion times in the last few days on my station of choice, or so it feels like. It was probably just two times in one day with a distinctive song that I know from elsewhere. (I know I have it on the School of Rock soundtrack, and I do have LZ I-IV on my iPod.)

The only thing I have left to say is that I hope that Candace gets my package today or Monday! I'm excited for her to get it! I suppose I could have this joy more often if I went to the trouble of making up the packages I owe people more often.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top