cello cello cello

05.27.04 @ 6:45 p.m.

Candace is completely awesome, and I'm dying of Pete Townshend overload. Let me tell you, if I have to go, it might as well be of Townshend induced stroke or something.

SO CUTE! I think I can see how Pete could get caught up in playing that synth for hours... It's so lovely to listen to, it's like how I can sometimes sit with my guitar and play randomly for long periods. And it's more interesting that that's the really 'clean' period of Townshend's life, apart from the excessive drinking. And Kit involved in the drugs in New York.

There are no words. None. Nothing I can say here could possibly express the sheer and total joy I get from music. I think when I was in Philosophy of the Arts, I wrote a paper on how the aesthetic experience, aesthetic rapture that comes from brilliant art and music (reduntant, as music IS art) is akin to religious rapture portrayed in paintings from the past. An electrification of the soul, plugged into a Marshall stack.

Oh, enough of this. I'll never articulate what I mean to say.

I went to the library today to return a stack of books and try to get the next few tapes of Tom Jones. I also went to get my Greyhound ticket for the weekend and incidentally buy myself a new notebook to write S&S and ICRY in (it's so perfect--It has the number 4 on the cover (which reminds me of Townshend's marking his guitars) and is divided into four sections by the color of the edge of the paper. The first is for S&S, the second is for ICRY so I can write them simultaneously). Of course, the irony of the world is that I can stay home until 3 PM with no one seeking my attention, but as soon as I leave the house, I get a call from the girls who would like to move into the house and my dad seeking computer advice. GAH. I guess if I never leave the house again, I'll never be bothered.

This morning I dug up a bunch of loose sheets which comprise the first drafts of ICRY. There are good parts and bad. Mostly bad. I love a line I wrote after a character dropped a drink in surprise, but I shan't reproduce it because it's less funny out of context.

Candace sent me other things in a fantastically decorated box, which makes me very happy and very eager to put together the tape I'm going to make for her this weekend. I don't think my tape will rock quite as hard as hers, but it's still good. I love the fact that I have three music friends now that correspond with me and that we'll send packages to one another. I am, in fact, overdue on sending awesome stuff to Jessica and Rachel. I think I will have to make them a Summertime Blues package.

Speaking of, it poured rain. I need to wash my jeans (the last clean pair got soaked while I was running my errands) and makes some dinner. I'm thinking chicken fettucini or a hamburger... no tomatos means no tacos. Which is just as well, because I am willing to bet my dad will make tacos this weekend.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top