we're all forgiven

05.15.04 @ 1:59 a.m.

Immediacy dictates that I announce that Ena and I broke the law in the name of Pete Townshend.

That is to say we went out, driver's licenceless, in her car to the Bijou to go see a midnight showing of The Kids Are Alright, possibly the most shit print of it you could possibly come across. Actually, I'm fairly certain that it's an original release print becase a) it was fairly sepia toned and scratched and b) there were a lot of strange skips in the film, which make me suspect it's broken and been spliced, poorly, several times.

Who the hell cares, though? ROCK AND ROLL. It is so amazing seeing them on a movie screen, even a tiny one like the Bijou's. It's sped up in places and cut differently than the DVD version, but at the same time, there's a full version of "A Quick One While He's Away," so it's a different cut than the old video/laserdisc release.

It was so awesome to see it with other people, strangers, too. Even though some people left, oh, I'd say just before the "Who Are You" segment (it's not a long movie, but it's so many short parts that it feels long), it was magnificent to hear other people laugh at the funny bits. (Especially Pete's bum wiggle during "Baba O'Riley"... ~*M*~ and Candace know what I'm talking about, eh?)

It's amazing how one little thing can completely and utterly change one's mood. I was going to be all serious in my entry today, but for now I'll ignore all the sad and introspective in favor of Pete, Pete, Pete. My love knows no bounds, and it's not like I'm just all "Gah, he's sexy" (but he is, oh, he is... the "Cello, cello, cello" of "A Quick One While He's Away" in the Rock and Roll Circus, where he's kind of backing up, gets me every time), it's more attraction to talent and the fact that he produces music that has such an impact on me. So moving. I was just rolling in warm waves of contentment in that movie theatre and I'm so, so glad that Ena (with a little help from Candace) convinced me to go. I'm glad we did this together, because for all my bitching and moaning, I will miss her. I'm so lucky that I have a roommate and friend who is so completely tolerant of my obsessive ways to the point of practically embracing my own loves.

She mentioned a lot of things that were revelatory about seeing it in the theatre rather than watching bits and pieces on DVD with me. Mostly silly little overlooked things, but also she said she felt the difference between seeing something in a theatre and seeing it on TV. That she had never believed or really understood people who said "Oh, you have to see this in a theatre to really experience it." And it's funny that it happened with a really lousy old print of The Kids Are Alright.

Now to bed, in hopes of Pete working his way into my dreams. *girly sigh*

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top