don't worry baby

05.12.04 @ 11:11 p.m.

If tomorrow weren't Thursday, The Day of Only One Class (That Never Has Homework Due), I would be angry at myself again. Last night was spent mostly berating myself and my time in the shower this morning. I have to wonder if I'm trying to sabotage myself. Am I afraid of leaving college? My mom took a mild musing on whether I should get my masters in stride. In fact, she jumped on it as another thing to tell me when I want to spend money.

Today was something of a parade of misery, or at least inconvenience. Managed to drag myself out of bed for Chaucer, then lurked around the EMU desperately working on the stuff I had to have prepared for my second tutoring session, which I had at 11:30. There's almost no way I'm going to fail Chaucer, especially since Boren, the professor who wins the grand high TMI award of Ellen's College Career So Far, gave me an A on my paper, which sorely needed editing. I got it back today and read through it to find a couple of incomprehensible sentences, one misplaced sentence, and a few missing key words. This whole writing papers in the middle of the night thing could perhaps use some evaluation. (Who cares? I got an A and flattery about intellegent arguments and readability [ha!]!) Anyway, I was crap. I have very little concept of scansion, apparently, and was obviously stiff and all uptight about reading. Meh. The only important thing about the tutoring session is that you go and at least pretend you're prepared, so it's not like my grade hangs on this.

Folklore was actually quite funny, but I've had all the life sucked out of me by a pointless trip to Fred Meyer, which is something of an ordeal, really. I went to get roast beef, which was on sale at an incredible price, but what do you know? All out. NONE. Fucking hell. I came all this way with french dip sandwiches in mind, and I leave with nothing. (Totally not true: I bought a bunch of stuff, including clips to fix my bag and a hummingbird feeder.)

Also, Ena had told me that The Kids Are Alright was the midnight movie at the Bijou, which had me quite happy. I checked the Bijou's website today and found out that yeah, TKAA played this week. Last Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. I missed it. And I so wanted to see Townshend on the big screen.

Good things, to try to break me out of my apathy: Intriguing Georgette Heyer book from the library and two Perry Mason novels from their equivalent of the Paperback Exchange (not nearly so well organized as Cedar Mill). I'm starting to feel like writing again. Regency, admittedly, but it's better than the total lack of inspiration I've been suffering under.

I think I might go play guitar. I've been meaning to sit down and play for days now, and since I don't have anything I really need to do, I think I'll go do that now. Nothing on TV that I want to watch, either.

Oh, I almost forgot: I self-portraited for the Dumbrella Group Picture.

(And I did it with a laptop trackpad and AppleWorks!) (Probably equivalent to MS Paint, PC users.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top