dedicated follower of fashion

05.10.04 @ 8:46 p.m.

I am just now disappointed in the CGI behind this made-for-TV version of A Wrinkle In Time. So many people love it so much, but I remember being something less than hugely impressed with it. Maybe it merits another reading now that I'm older instead of watching a cheesy movie.

It's up super fucking loud because chaos has descended on my house again. Ena and Bonnie AND Patricia, goddamnit. Three loud, chattering women all speaking Mandarin and yelling at each other for no apparent reason. Eurgh. I fucking, fucking, fucking HATE WHEN BONNIE IS HERE. I do not need this on top of the stress of midterms and end-term time.

Needless anger isn't something I should dwell on, though.

The library at school instills bliss in me. Not only did I spend quite an absurd amount of time in the clothing-history section on the second floor, I discovered a new source of delight on the fourth floor. Sears catalogues. Sears catalogues dating back to 1897! Not all of them, but a nice selection. They have '65-'69 at least. Someday soon I'm going to go back there with my sketchbook and go crazy drawing old fashion. I cannot express how wonderful it was to just sit and flip through a 1902 Sears catalogue and see jewelry and things like watch chain charms, available in a wide variety of secret society crests. There was a fantastic dress in the 1967 Spring-Summer edition that Elizabeth Parks is TOTALLY going to wear in "ICRY." I love the furnishings, too. My aesthetic taste is far too rooted in the late sixties and the seventies.

I have nothing else to say.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top