i'm so bored with the usa

04.10.04 @ 10:22 p.m.

So... yesterday was a hell of a night. It ended on a very bad note.

Classes were intensely boring. Well, Chaucer is generally somewhat interesting, but probably only to me. I rarely drift off into daydreams or whatever. I generally pay attention, though I have not done well on the whole "Doing what I'm told, homework-wise." I'm supposed to be phonetically transcribing 4 lines of the Canterbury tales a day. I've done... the two lines we did in class and a lot of simple words, like the words "the" and "that." Short vowels and things I shouldn't have trouble recognizing. Eugh. It's hard, and I should really work on it some tomorrow. In Psychology we did a stupid experiment that involved squeezing the shoulders and hands, and I kind of worry that I squeezed the shoulder of the girl next to me a little too hard. And yet I've had trouble opening bottles and jars a little bit. I guess I'm not practicing guitar enough.

Italian, though, was a bit difficult. We had to write an in class essay about a blind date. Blind date. What the hell. It was an odd paper to write and I'll probably not get a great grade on it because I stuck with simple conjugations. I also kind of bolloxed up the creativity part because I was rushed at the end. What surprised me was that Conor sat next to me in class. This would not suprrise me if he sat on my left because, well, Stephanie and I sit in the seats in the back right corner of the classroom, Stephanie next to the wall and me on her left. The seat on my left gets shuffled around. This other guy was already sitting there and Conor came in and, with Stephanie walking right behind him, took her seat. I think I'm overly conscious. Mostly I was just astonished that he took Stephanie's seat. (Though it's quite possible that he did not know that it was her seat, despite the fact that we've all been in that class for two terms, because it's hard to see who sits where down the line due to the fact that the classroom is wide but not very deep. There are only two rows of seats and a cluster of desks on the right side of the room.)

SO ANYWAY. Did I mention that I found my ID card placed helpfully in the mailbox by the postman? Hooray for the postman.

Moni arrived early to pick me up, which was annoying because I thought she would call first, and so I was still gathering up my stuff. But we got on the road and to Corvallis just fine. It was something of an annoying evening all together. First, it was Andrew's big thing to plan everything up, but he spent very little time with us. Amy and Moni took turns playing Zelda on (what I assume is) Andrew's GameCube, and you know nothing screams excitement like watching other people play video games. A friend of A&A's, Mike I think, came over and he was actually quite funny and nice to talk to. We ate (mother of god, can we not eat something other than motherfucking turkeyburgers JUST ONCE??) and then played a moderately fun card game called Guillotine. Everyone was all, "This is going to be the most fun ever! This game is great! Blah blah blah, excessive enthusiasm!" No. It was okay. It was not that fun. I mean, it could have been much worse, but it's not like... playing Uno in Mr. Hackenbruck's room during first period and being cursed at by one of the scariest people in the grade (for all that I cannot imagine him hurting any of us, he was known to be menacing... agh, I can't explain. Deep down a nice guy but in some ways something of a frightening person) when I played things like Draw Four Wilds.

And oh my lord. We watched Chapters 11-20 of Clone Wars on Cartoon Network. Fucking hell. The sheer kickassedness of those cartoons almost make up for the crap parts of the last two Star Wars movies. When that series finishes, I'd like to get it on DVD. This would also be helpful, because I'm somewhat confused about how the Clone Wars go if the Jedi and the clones are on the same side. It's troubling.

I also went full on geek and busted out the majority of my Star Wars knowledge. Loud (as usual, we are incapable of quietness) discussion of the nature of the Star Wars Universe and recounting details from all the movies ("Wait, wait, when did Anakin lose his arm?" "Huh, what, they're married?") I think I weirded out Mike a little. Heh. Not as bad as everyone else who went all crazy with the Trek knowledge while we watched half a DS9 episode while waiting for the second episode of Clone Wars to come on. Even I'm a touch too cool to geek out on Trek.

At some point, Andrew's boyfriend came over. He lives in Bend or someplace like that and had a long drive. I was not pleased with the situation for several reasons. Most of them were reasonable, I think. A) Do not invite all your friends over with "Boo hoo, I haven't seen you all in so long," and then promptly disappear with your boyfriend. B) Don't be a mega-massive hypocrite and have serious discussions with me and Martha and Amy about how none of your friends want to see your public displays of affection then be all smoochy smoochy when you actually bother being in the goddamn room. The only other things that trouble me are how much older this guy is (8 years, I think, which is too many when the younger is 20 years old) and a feeling I get from what I've heard from Amy that this guy is kind of manipulative. And, superficially, dude is fat. He has a noticeable gut, which perhaps would not have caught my attention if I hadn't looked at Andrew's photo album (I'd never gotten to see the pictures from last year's Spring Break re-enactment of D-Day with plastic soldiers until last night) and seen a shirtless photo of this guy. Amy gave me a troubled look and whispered "When Andrew first showed this to me, he said 'Isn't he sexy?'"

But you know what? Andrew's life is none of my business. I might have misgivings, but I'm the last person who should be judging his romantic life. I don't know if it's good or bad that he clearly has the most relationship experience out of all of us (haha, Moni and Amy said "Well, not that my history with men has shown my outstanding taste..." and I raised my hand and said "I win!" because I'm a looooooser!), I'm mostly just unhappy that he invited us and him over when he clearly couldn't give his attention to both. That was rude.

Some Mario Kart was played. I got my butt kicked, but that was far more fun than watching Moni try to play Zelda more after two races. That's just fucking boring.

When it was time for us to go, Amy really wanted us to stay. That was sweet, but Moni and I really wanted to go back to Eugene. We had a nice talk on the way home. I'd like it if Moni and I spent more time hanging out. The bad note that the night ended on (because it was clearly a string of fantastic fun otherwise) was Moni got a ticket and I felt so bad. I know it's not my fault (though she wouldn't be on that part of I-5 if she didn't have to drive me home, since I live across town from her), but it's not a fun situation to be in. I also suspect that she wouldn't have gotten it if she hadn't braked when she saw the cop.

Today has been lazy and has involved a nagging oversleep headache that I could have avoided by not being stupid and lying in bed half the day (though some of that was reading my Big Book of Urban Legends from the library). Fantastic nachos were made again, though they seemed a lot less fantastic today. I was planning all day on watching "A Quick One" from TKAA for a needed dose of rock and roll euphoria (or maybe "Baba O'Riley" for Townshend adorability) but the timing just hasn't been right. And now SNL is about to start.

But! (And I swear I'm going to stop writing soon,) I learned a couple of bits (mostly parts of the bass line) of The Darkness' "I Believe in a Thing Called Love."

[Title: Clash]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top