you need love

04.09.04 @ 11:12 a.m.

I'm listening to the Small Faces' eponymous album, and I think I've listened to it a couple of times now, but it still hasn't absorbed yet.

That's the thing with me and albums. I need to sit and really properly listen to it anymore or it gets lost in the shuffle of my mind and I end up having no idea what's what. I think I've listened to this album twice now, but as incidental music to the rest of my life rather than any kind of focused thing. At the same time, I can listen to and enjoy a song for months, perhaps even years without paying attention to any lyrics but the main chorus. Like knowing "Don't Worry Baby" casually for years, having the song for a couple of weeks and then belatedly remembering that it's a car race song and actually bothering to listen to the lyrics. I could have maybe gone forever without realizing that it's a car song if I hadn't read something at some point about the subject matter of the song.

This comes up because I just noticed that the vocalist (oh dear, I'm going to have to find something to read up on the Faces, perhaps the Allmusic entry, so I know their names) broke into an R&B rendition of "You Are My Sunshine" in the middle of "Come On Children." I do so like the Mod music. (Also, how the hell can anyone who has heard a cover or the original of Willie Dixon's "You Need Love" and NOT realize that Led Zeppelin are big fucking plagiarists?)

Tonight I'm going to Corvallis for the evening. I'm a bit annoyed that Martha's not going, but oh well. I had a bunch of stuff to show her. I bought a copy of Guitar World yesterday with Jack White on the cover. But it's not just Jack that draws me (though after reading that article, I really do love him [in the "OMG, AWESOME" way rather than the giry "Tee hee, I luuurve him" way] and some of his ideas on the course of music and the point behind the gimmicky aspects of the Stripes), there was also an article on the Beatles coming to America (there's a great quote in there by Bruce Morrow, a DJ, but I can't remember it offhand - I intend to reproduce it here later) and tab for White Stripes' "I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself" (which I quite like) AND The Darkness' "I Believe In A Thing Called Love" WITH bass tab, too. [guitar geek] Swoon. [/guitar geek] (PS - Jack's Airline guitar is visually striking to me, though from what he's said, I'm sure it's a bitch to play.) (PPS - The article mentions Pete Townshend's guitar smashings in comparison to Jack's tendency to improvise wildly in concert at the risk of the song falling apart. If I could convey a sheer burst of happy in type, I would.)

Yesterday I got unreasonably pissed off that Lex got kicked off Survivor. Fucking Hell. Now there is not a wonderful aging punk for me to mindlessly adore and root for. Cathy should have given him her immunity, but I suppose he did play the game a little too nice. It's a function of my personality that if I like someone of the opposite sex, think they're cool/awesome/[related adjective], I can very easily talk myself into crushage. I got all into adoring Lex. (I am a silly girl, I must admit it.) Then I was in a pissy mood all the rest of the night, and Ena, who didn't come home until after the voting, probably wondered what the hell was wrong with me.

I have an hour and a half before I need to go to class. I don't know what I want to do. I think I should probably get some food, because while I went to the trouble of baking muffins so I would have something I could just grab and run out the door with, I was running late this morning and forgot about them. Well, really, I didn't even have time to go into the kitchen, since I didn't have time to put on my jacket, just grab it off the couch and run out the door. I need to get better at this whole "morning" thing. I need to stop sleeping in excessively on off mornings so it's not such a trial to get up on mornings when I have Chaucer.

I'm already sleepy and it isn't even noon yet.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top