paint it black

03.02.04 @ 11:55 a.m.

I feel like I'm never getting time on the internet anymore. Which is probably GOOD, because I spend way too much time doing things like reading through hundreds of pages of Dumbrella. Having mentioned it so very many times, I suppose I'll explain now that Dumbrella is the collection of messages boards for a group of webcomics. Mostly I check the Scary Go Round forum, but sometimes I can be found in Diesel Sweeties and very rarely Wigu. And I rather like the non-comic board, Super Mega Party of Fun.

Scary Go Round is the polite board, though.

Anyway. I guess I haven't updated in a couple of days, perhaps since Saturday, I'm too lazy to check. Sunday I took Greyhound home, which was possibly slightly more miserable than usual. Instead of siphoning off the Eugene/Salem people into a separate bus, I had to ride with the people going all the way south to L.A. Good god. I pity anyone who had to ride with all those little kids who kept asking if they were in California yet when we weren't even in Albany. Also, the girl who sat next to me kept chugging Nyquil and rattling herself to pieces with a horrible, wracking cough. I managed to listen to Quadrophenia all the way through, but then when I tried to switch to Who's Next (I am in Who mode after buying that magazine), the batteries died. It sucked.

Then I burned my tongue on hot chocolate from Paradiso because I'm just not used to hot drinks (I generally don't like them) waiting for a bus to take me to South Eugene. The only one I could take necessitated a trip through the park. I tried to skirt a flooded path and ended up getting extremely muddy. Stupid, stupid.

Then yesterday my bag came and I'm rather pleased with it. I washed it becase it smelled like the finishes I use with acrylic paint, causing two problems: I unbalanced the washer, so it rattled away from the wall until it disconnected the exhaust tube for the dryer, and one of the clasps that holds the straps on disintigrated. Woo. So I need to come up with some kind of replacement. I'm thinking I could probably buy another clasp like that at a fabric store or someplace, but it looks like I'm not making a bag change-over until Spring Break, when I have time to deal with such things.

An addendum to my delcaration against boys who wear black trench coats and fedoras: Fedoras should not be worn AT ALL unless you are also wearing an extremey dapper suit. Pinstripes preferred if you are possessed of an appropriately svelte build.

Things are not all horrible. Last night and today I made myself the King and Queen of all Sandwiches for dinner and lunch. Normally I would not have the same meal twice in a row, but the whole purpose of buying sandwich fixin's was to make lunches. Anyway, they were supremely delicious and possibly better than Subway, which for me is saying a lot. I have determined that the secret to Sandwich Greatness is buying Italian bread from Albertsons. Seriously, I ate my lunch in approximately ten minutes. I normally linger over food, but the Deliciousness Forces were too strong and overtook me.

ACADEMIA

We had quite the conversation in English last night. Mostly it was about cultural appropriation and if it is ever appropriate/responsible for white authors to write from the point of view of modern Native Americans. Several vocal people in my class felt that no, this was not right. The lack of any sort of caveat stating that the novel was based on research rather than personal experience made people very huffy and that discussion occupied most of the class. In small groups, where very little on topic discussion gets done unless you sit at the front of the room where the prof looks over you, a fellow named Conner and I talked about the Italian class we're both in (I never realized, heh, whoops) and the supreme coolness of Professor Awesome. It's so nice to see people agree with me.

In a bold attempt to get over myself, I went by his office last night (Prof. S's) to tell him about the Who magazine, but he was quite busy and so I had to scurry off to class instead. Ah, well. Perhaps tomorrow, since I have to go to PLC to turn in a paper for English anyway. I think I have to go to PLC, anyway. That's where the majority of the offices are.

This morning we talked at length about Ovid, but by now I've forgotten the interesting specifics. Roman culture seems obsessed with the idea of self control, and Ovid is pretty convinced that women are more lustful than men. The underlying message of several passages of Ovid is "Women want it more." Illustrated by Pasipha� and the Bull. Which horrified the group I was working with. Christ, it's mythology. Don't get all uppity because a woman falls in love with a bull. Zeus almost always seduced in animal form, though Pasipha�'s bull was just a bull. She was made to fall in love with him by the gods, who did it as an act of revenge against her husband. Me with my mythologizing skills told the entire story to the class, because only part of it was in the reading. Mostly, it was illustrating that P. got to do what every woman secretly wishes to do (according to the Romans): she got to kill and disembowel her perceived rivals. (The other cows of the herd.)

I seriously love this class to the nth degree.

Italian today and Economics (dread), but I'll probably use Econ to finish reading my English book and start formulating my paper topic. Possibly something about racism. I don't know, it's a stupid book.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top