shakin' all over

02.28.04 @ 11:37 p.m.

Ooh, today. Well, I bought that Who issue of Uncut, though the trip ended up being emotionally harrowing. Well, you know, emotionally harrowing if you're overdramatic and make a big deal out of the tiniest thing.

My mom and I went to Borders this morning because, well, I like it there and all the other issues of Uncut I own have been purchased there, so I know they carry it. I went to the back, in the CD section, where they generally keep a rack full of Uncut and Mojo magazines. I was looking out for my favorite band ever on a cover, and was sorely disappointed when all I found was that same old picture of Jim Morrison that they use on freakin' everything.

OH! OH! STOP THE FREAKING PRESSES! Colin Firth will host SNL next week! My joy knows no bounds. (*sigh* Mr. Darcy!)

Okay, I'm better now. (Seriously, I am a million times in love with him.) (But I am ten million times in love with Townshend, as evidenced by the images surrounding these words.) Anyway, I freaked because I thought I was too late. I ended up being too late to get a second copy of the RS 500. Must be a once bitten twice shy kind of thing. And when I say freaked, I possibly said "Oh no" in a subdued voice. Because contrary to my silliness here, I am a very reserved person. I asked a clerk if they had been changed recently, and he wasn't sure, so he said we should check the magazine section since they get updated more often. "Oh," he said, "same one." But! All was not lost! The Who issue was a couple of magazines over, and my undramatic search for it made it that much sweeter.

That told, this picture... I want to say that if I walked into a room and saw this standing before me, I would not be responsible for my actions. Gaah, why do I love him so much?

I'm not asking you to agree with me or anything, I'm just sayin'.

Afterward I spent some time hunting around for a copy of Ovid's The Erotic Poems for class, which I eventually found on an absurdly high shelf. But I'm moderately tall for a girl and reached it okay.

Tonight was all about the mother-daughter bonding. At the very least, it was us hanging out and having fun while Dad went to a harmonica summit or something. He hasn't come back yet, which isn't really surprising. Mom and I went to go see Girl With A Pearl Earring. Having read the book, I was pretty pleased with it, but I really think they shouldn't have left the part about Griet's hair and it's connection to the passionate side of her nature out of the film. That said, the movie probably suffered the least from a book to movie conversion that I've seen, with the exception of the BBC miniseries of Pride and Prejudice, which is just the definitive production of that work. (And, as an afterthought, Holes, though Stanley's weightloss is ignored in the film version. Also, I could do without Henry Winkler.) Firth was quite good as Vermeer, possibly better than I expected him to be. I had a hard time picturing it, I think, but he did very well. I think it allowed him more of a stretch than he's been getting as both the Mr. Darcys (P&P and Bridget Jones) (am eager for BJ 2) and his Love, Actually character. God knows how he did in What a Girl Wants. I will go and see a fluffy romantic comedy to see Mr. Firth, but I will not go see teen fare. Not for anybody. I would not necessarily put full trust in my word that the book to movie conversion was that great as I haven't read the book in a long time. I can't think how long. I remember that I managed to read the whole thing in one sitting, but that was in no small part because it was fascinating. I think I might read more of Chevaliar's work. I think I misspelled her name, but I'm not really willing to go look it up.

Since then, Mom and I went for a fast food dinner, split a side salad, and watched a lot of TV together. Just hangin'. Which is really nice. I love my parents a lot. I'm happy to get to spend time with them like this, and after the fun of tonight, I am immensely glad I didn't go to Paige's party.

[title song originally by Johnny Kidd and the Pirates, later performed live by the Who at Leeds University]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top