tales of brave ulysses

02.04.04 @ 4:34 p.m.

Slavik: Ha. Ha. Very funny. Shut up.

(See guestbook if that's confusing.)

In, oh, an hour, Stephanie from Italian is going to come over so we can formulate our skit. I am... moderately prepared. Not that I'm likely to get more prepared in the next hour or anything, nooo.

Also, I would like to echo the sentiment of RStevens, the mind behind Diesel Sweeties: If you have any of those free iTunes download codes from Pepsi that you don't want, I'll take 'em. Just sayin'.

Professor Awesome was around again today. He was wearing [insert noise of joy] his mod parka. I want Professor Awesome to be my best friend. I never did email him to thank him, though.

I've noticed the growing place "awesome" has in my vocabulary. I think I blame Dumbrella.

So. I promised the lovely way that the Greeks thought of women, didn't I? Well, there's the Simonedes, which goes through and explains the ten types of women. Charming, to the last. But what I wanted to put here was a bit from Hesiod that I read the other day in Economics (because even homework from other classes is preferable to actually listening to my Econ professor).

Hesiod, Works and Days

Then, raging, spoke the Gatherer of Clouds:
'Prometheus, most crafty god of all,
You stole the fire and tricked me, happily,
You, plague on all mankind and on yourself.
They'll pay for fire: I'll give another gift
to men, an evil thing for their delight,
And all will love this ruin in their hearts.'
So spoke the father of men and gods, and laughed.

He told Hephaistos quickly to mix earth
And water, and to put in it a voice
And human power to move, to make a face
Like an immortal goddess, and to shape
The lovely figure of a virgin girl.
Athene was to teach the girl to weave,
And golden Aphrodite to pour charm
Upon her head, and painful, strong desire,
And body-shattering cares. Zeus ordered, then,
The killer of Argos, Hermes, to put in
Sly manners, and the morals of a bitch.
The son of Kronos spoke, and was obeyed.
The Lame God moulded earth as Zeus decreed
Into the image of a modest girl,
Grey-eyed Athene made her robes and belt,
Divine Seduction and the Graces gave
Her golden necklaces, and for her head
The Seasons wove spring flowers into a crown.
Hermes the Messenger put in her breast
Lies and persuasive words and cunning ways;
The herald of the gods then named the girl
Pandora, for the gifts which all the gods
Had given her, this ruin of mankind.

I love my courses in the Classics. They're surprisingly awesome. I'd use another word, but I don't know if there is one that portrays how I feel.

Sassy comments from boys on the above will force me to kill again. Do not even start with me.

I am on my fourth brownie of the day. I need to be stopped before bad things happen to me. And I beat Hamlet, The Text Adventure today. I rock. And I use the hints regularly. Shh.

[Title song by Cream]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top