come together

02.03.04 @ 4:07 p.m.

I have many things to write today. I took notes, see.

The thing I kept forgetting to write about the last few days is this: My high school friends and I have a Yahoo Group for ease of event planning and just to keep random conversation. We do a lot of those horrible email surveys, too. In the recent round of them, I'm surprised that I was on both Moni and Amy's list of "People I wish I could spend more time with." I started to feel self conscious about mine and made it all flippant answers like "Pete Townshend" and "The Who Boy." I guess it ties in with my being insanely shy that I'm also insanely modest and am genuinely surprised that I appeared in those lists. Martha and I were tied for top in Amy's. I'd kind of like to hang out with Moni more often, too. We ought to go see another movie or I should have her over here to watch something.

Speaking of fantastic people who like the Who (yes we were, shut up), I saw Professor Awesome today when I got off the bus. He's on sabbatical, I hear, but if he's working on a book or something, it makes sense for him to be around the university. He just redyed his hair, because the tips were bright, eye blinding red. And what set me off in giddy giggle mode on my way to Italian was that I looked down and noticed... we were wearing the same shoes. Heehee. I'm so completely silly, but the fact that he, too, was wearing red Chuck Taylors struck me as wonderful and amusing.

The little things make me happy, you know.

On a similar topic, I finally got my Keith Moon magazine back, and am proud to say I kicked some serious ass. 93. I was feeling a little "WTF?" about the "Great Start!" comment that's also on there, possibly because I don't want to think of Ena's interpretation, which was "Great start to your career that you're incidentally not going after anymore." Still, I intend to go after a minor in multimedia design, so there you go. Someday I'll take the mag home and scan all the pages.

Two stupid things: A girl came into Italian wearing a "Canadian Drinking Team" shirt. That's just fucking classy. Also, I think I'm getting an ear infection or something. The area between my ear and my jaw hurts. And occasionally it feels like my eardrum is twitching, which is SO not pleasant.

Two music things: I feel a bit thick after Martha made an offhand comment on The Darkness' "Growing on Me." It was something on the lines of "How I love songs about venereal diseases. I love them more than songs about heroin or songs about masturbation." I looked at that email, thought for all of half a second, and said, "Shit, she's right." How did I not notice this before? I mentioned this to Ena and she said, "I think you were born with a corrupted mind." I argued that it can't be as bad as she thinks if I missed the dirty interpretation. The other music thing is the Jet CD Martha made for me. It works okay in my computer, where I uploaded it into iTunes, but in my portable CD player, I get a little of this: "Hey! Roll over Dee Ja-" KZZZ KZZZ KZZZ. That's the sound of my CD player having a fit of electronic epilepsy. "Are You Gonna Be My Girl" plays okay, but most of the others send the poor old player into spasms. I totally refuse to get a new discman, though. My current one has personality, which I realize now is a bizarrely important thing to me when it comes to electronics. I scraped all the paint off the top and did an awesome concentric circle design and it's got one of my black and white Who logo stickers on the back. I've taken it everywhere. Hell, it broke and I fixed the motherfucker with a little help from Krazy Glue. Of course, now it clicks when it moves between songs and makes the KZZZ noise when it spasms instead of doing so quietly, but I don't care. (My other "machines with personality" thing is my computer, which thinks it's Pete Townshend. I love it so much. I can't imagine having another computer that I'm as fond of as I am of this laptop, even with all it's issues. And I don't think Ena is nearly so loving of her computer.)

Okay. I was going to talk about the way the Greeks viewed women, but I think I'll put that one aside until tomorrow.

[Title because I'm listening to Beatles 1 on random play]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top