gas on the hillside, oil in the teacup...

01.12.04 @ 8:28 p.m.

I'm somewhat proud of myself for not having had anything chocolate or even really sugary for the last few days. I seriously need to make up for the holiday gorging (cookies! pie! three separate birthday cakes! etc!) and am as yet too lazy to force myself into going to the gym on campus. Though I have a feeling exercise would feel fantastic.

I'm extremely annoyed today because fuckwit landlord cut down the two pine trees at the front of the house. One of them was cut outside my bedroom window (goodbye to even the illusion of privacy!) while I was getting dressed this morning no less. On the phone I realized that had I been aware, I would have been very self conscious. What if the tree had fallen on the house while I was sitting on the bed blow drying my hair and wearing a towel? Not only would I be dead, but I'd be naked, too. I'd be mortified, even from the afterlife.

Fuckwit landlord came up to me on my way to the bus stop this morning (I had to go out the back--the front door was blocked by masses of TREE) and told me they were diseased. And anyway, we should be happy--More light will come in and make the house easier to heat in the winter, he said, and in my memory he is jolly and oblivious but really he is just oblivious. Yeah, I think. And it will be even fucking hotter in here come summer. Fantastic. But I just went along down the block to the bus station and pouted to all the others waiting and watching the trees get sawn up, as it was the most entertaining vista.

On Friday I'm going back to Portland and Ena will come with me. After two and a half years of living together, she will finally see my house. Heavens.

I have a canker sore or something in my mouth where the cheek meets the gum. It is possibly the source of all evil in the world.

Anyway. I don't know why Pete Townshend is heavier on my mind than usual today, but he seems to be. I mean, I did write today as Infohell is the most boring class in the world and worse the second time around, but I worked on "Sea and Sand" not "I Can't Reach You." (S&S uses mostly the same characters as ICRY, but it's set, oh, four years earlier up to the beginning of ICRY. It's essentially Quadrophenia from the girl's point of view (with serious alterations) and develops her tendency to run away from her problems.) I think that it's because Ena and I were looking over my new Communication Arts mags and I pulled out my art box with it's thousands of magazine clippings to show her some of the better things from the issues I dissected. In the box is a picture of Pete from a TIME article on the whole scandal last year. It's so sad.

I think I'll finish off Cold Mountain tonight. I should do my Italian homework, of course, but I can't seem to make my mind take a hold on it. Every time I sit down and open my books, sentences slip through my head like... something slippery. (I can't think of anything but the fish metaphor and don't particularly want to use it.)

[Title lyric from the Who song "Pure and Easy"]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top