aura lee

01.11.04 @ 7:52 p.m.

I've spent almost the entire day reading Cold Mountain and as of now I'm about two thirds through it. I stopped at 5:30 to finally take a looooong shower, put some laundry in, and have dinner. I only just stopped eating as I've been longing to have peanut butter and jelly on SOMETHING and I tend to not eat a lot of bread, so yesterday I bought crackers. Mmmm, delicious.

But I'm trying not to think in a Southern accent. I'm so susceptable to that sort of thing. If I watch too much British TV or read Discworld or Jane Austen books, my faux Britishness comes out. And I know it sounds so totally pretentious to use British phrasing and voice when I write, I can't help it. You synthesize what you take in, and I just read a lot of British authors (or Irish, though less often) and watch... more than the average amount of British TV and movies. Blackadder and Python and the BBC production of Pride and Prejudice.

Anyway, Cold Mountain. I just left off at the end of an Inman chapter (they alternate between Inman and Ada) and discussion with Ena leads me to believe that there's many a difference between book and movie. Some make me skeptical. Inman is tied to the other outliers and Veasy with rope in the book and Ena tells me he's shackled in the movie. The way the Home Guards are portrayed in the book, I have a hard time seeing them get access to chains, let alone leaving chains behind on a row of corpses. Too valuable, far too valuable. It's very sweet, the uncertainty between the two main characters. I keep wondering, though, how the hell Nicole Kidman and Renee Zellweger can play a pair of women no more than 25 and 21 respectively.

For now, I've got TV to watch and a topic proposal to write up real quick-like for tomorrow. And, of course, reading more of Cold Mountain

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top