radio clash

01.08.04 @ 5:11 p.m.

Jesus Fucking Christ. That's all I can say. What do you think are the odds of this getting press in the American mainstream media? Hmmm? Especially since the USA is pointed to as one of the major culprits? I don't know about you, but I plan on still being alive in 2050 and I find this very depressing. STOP DRIVING YOUR MOTHERFUCKING SUVS, PEOPLE. I want to have children, too, but this is just upsetting. Oh, well, at least it's in the New York Times. That's makes it a little less unsettling. The NY Times version is much less gloom and doom, though, even suggesting slightly that the scientists might be mistaken or overly pessamistic. Funny, the Guardian interviews a scientist saying that these findings might be overly OPTOMISTIC.

It's just that lately I realize how much the American press conveniently ignores. And perhaps the saddest thing is that I'm shaken right now, but I'll probably put it out of my mind within a few hours. I know myself too well.

Oh dear me. But I have just had quite a nice idea. What if I do my infohell project on Global Warming? Should the goverment take action to reduce global warming? Clearly, the answer is yes, I can find books on global warming, and maybe I can get to some science professors. Mmmm. Plus I can use the original of this study, which was just published in the journal Nature as one of my specialized journal sources. Ooooh, the options open ahead of me. Global Warming is a big deal issue. And more relavent to a larger cross section of the world than my personal dislike of PETA and what they do.

I should not exploit the horror of the world for personal gain, but I am on a career track to being a journalist, so it seems I am destined to do so. Eek.

Other things:

It's hard to respect a teacher that has a lisp and cannot spell. And who claims to love Monty Python but lacks a basic understanding of British slang. Also, he is trying very hard to be cool and likeable, exampled by an overlong speech about Mick Jagger: Economics student.

I want to go to the next writers group, but I just don't think I can. A) Saturdays are totally bad because the bus stops coming into my neck of the woods at about 4:30. I could walk a few blocks to one of the stations, but it's through a park and would be after dark, and I don't like that idea. B) Next meeting is planned for the 17th. Tentatively, we're planning sledding for that day. Even if we weren't, I'm planning on going home to Portland that weekend. I have to hold my mother's hand while she installs Outlook Express. Their current email client is really pretty dreadful. Doesn't read HTML, which my mother, who should know better, dismissively calls "garbage," and autocompresses attachments in a format that most PCs can't use.

And oh heavens. I made casual mention of Who Boy in an email to my aunt - how the term was starting less than thrillingly and one of the disappointments was lack of "boy I have a mild crush on" in my classes... She writes:

P.S. - It's leap year...make your move on the boy!

I have a very entertaining aunt, at the very least. She also started her career in journalism and is always encouraging me to stick with it and reminds me that 'reporter' is not the only route laid out before me.

(Aside: There's this radio program on KOPB called "American Routes" but I always thought it was "American Roots" and I guess that's the pun they were going for, but 'routes' never occurred to me because I (like most west coasters) say it like 'rOWts' like "Ow, that hurts" not like "Row, row, row your boat." Dialect is fascinating, which I suppose is why Martha likes Linguistics. I do, too, but the class I took was horrendously boring.)

Now. I need to go do the dishes or they'll apparently never get done. And we are out of bowls. (Distressing state of affairs.)

[Title because I'm listening to The Story of the Clash Vol. 1 and I like the line "Please save us, not the whales."]

:edit: 7PM: Yay! I have plans to go to the movies with Moni tomorrow! Social interaction!

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top