school days part 2

01.05.04 @ 6:08 p.m.

Enrico seems like a very average Italian teacher. Not spectacular like Pelin, not moderately bad like Dana. So I'm pretty happy. He's also fairly funny. A girl was telling the class about how another girl spent her break and said 'tuoi' instead of 'suoi' ('your' instead of 'her') and the teacher cocked his head and said "She went to the movies with my friends?" Then he told an anecdote about teaching Italian in Greece and his students there would always say "esco con tua ragazza" instead of "esco con mia ragazza" ("I went out with your girlfriend"). "F" he said, pouting a little. "F minus!" We all laughed a lot. It's hard to convey in writing.

This round of infohell actually looks far superior to my last time around. All the vital information is actually in packet form rather than as overheads given to the GTFs. Also I know enough not to buy the text again (as it was pretty useless, I do not really need a book to tell me how to be a critical thinker, thanks all the same) and I can zone most of the lectures. I know how to make full annotations, I don't need to go through it all again. But I must. And I need to start researching my topic, legislation against purebred dog breeding. My dad was at one point the President of the German Shepherd Dog Club of Oregon, I've got contacts everywhere. "So-and-so is really involved in that whole thing... you should talk to him. He lives in Eugene, though." "Dad, I live in Eugene." "Oh yeah." The girl with the funny eye that I sat next to in VisComm sat next to me on one side and coincidentally, Sarah, a girl from the dorms last year, sat on my other side. As someone who was going in with experience, I was asked many questions.

You have to wonder at the wisdom of these girls, going to someone who has to retake the course for advice and insider info.

Neither of these two classes come close to the awesome potential of J203, though. The final project for Infohell won't be fun but time consuming like the VisComm final, just time consuming. Unless I really learn to like non-fiction writing and as long as it doesn't get too hard to find information, especially government documents. I could actually get into this, because I'm far more interested than I was with my last topic. And I'm partially fueled by my fiery hatred of PETA. Can you blame me when they pull shit like this? So I hope that I won't get ground down by the whole thing again this year.

NEWSFLASHES:

-Ena's back, and probably asleep, though she was going to try to stay awake until 7 to combat jetlag. Her brother sent along two CDs to me... You know the barking dog version of "Jingle Bells"? Think two CDs of that, including renditions of "Lady Marmalade," "Material Girl," and a whole album of Christmas carols. Well, bring out the stereo and stick those babies on repeat play. [insert eye roll]

-I got my Writing for the Media Book (On Writing Well) which actually looks independently interesting, packets for Infohell and Italian, and, in an odd moment of impulse buying while in line to checkout, a big thick Italian-English dictionary, which I've been meaning to get for a long time. $37 total. If I keep on with my plan to read the econ book in the library and just say "Fuck it" to the Infohell book, this will be the cheapest semester ever, book-wise. I'm also scheming to use my free black and white printing in the Brainerd lab for my final infohell project to save there. I'll need to money to compensate for heating the house somewhat unnecessarily. I could hang out in my room, which is small and efficient to heat, but the TV and the internet is out here in the vast living room.

Eh!?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top