school day part 1

01.05.04 @ 10:55 a.m.

Holy lord, don't let me ever think I don't have kick ass professors. Newest is Prof. Wheeler (actually, I've only had one class so far today and I'm killing my free hour before I have to go throw myself back into the fiery torment that is infohell), who is my Writing for the Media prof. He wrote for Rolling Stone! He was the goddamn editor in chief of Guitar Player! How do you get much cooler than that?

Maybe that's the good thing of this day... I woke up this morning to my alarm set to the local classic rock station. Well, the first time it went off it was DJ chatter and I hit the snooze button, but the SECOND time it was Pete's lovely voice, though it took me a second to recognize "Goin' Mobile." Hey, I was sleepy. So I (in my romanticism) decided to take it as a good omen of the day to come. Never mind that it snowed a quarter of an inch of sticking snow last night which is just enough to completly arse up the roads. My usual bus was on a snow route, which meant that it didn't come at the regular times. I saw it pass in the other direction and raced out the door, because luckily I was clever enough to look at the changed route online over breakfast and realized it would circle the block and come back. That was lucky, actually, and another nice, good thing.

Secretly I'm holding out hope that the snow kept the Who Boy at home because even more secretly I was hoping he'd be in my Writing for the Media class. (Heretofore "J203," as opposed to infohell, J202. But that I'll just call infohell.)

Tomorrow I have an economics (yuck, required for my major) class in the new business center on campus. It's very fancy inside (I shortcutted through it after class) and has a little cafe/coffee bar. Getting those business majors ready for the great big world out there and the importance of coffee therein. I'll also have Italian today and infohell in an hour. I'll likely report on those when I get back home this afternoon.

Oh, and one more thing. Stupid Pedant is in my class. Damn it. If I had to have one classmate from last year's rock history and it couldn't be Who Boy, couldn't it have been someone other than Stupid Pedant? I don't know why he drives me insane, but he does. Possibly he symbolizes the deeper levels of geek that I avoid, because we actually have some shared interests. We both lived in the same dorms our freshman year. He likes Terry Pratchett novels. And once I watched Repo Man with him in the lounge. But gah, he's the kind of guy that wanders around campus in a goddamn fedora and trench coat, you know? And stupid-ass sunglasses. He was also present the second time I babbled moronically at Who Boy. He's X-treme geek with a dash of rock music pedantry thrown in, and oh god I hope I'm not the same. At least I don't actively try to be cool, because nothing draws more attention to the fact that you are not actually cool.

Ugh. Now I need to go see how much the leech-like university wants to suck out of me for books.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top