teenage wasteland

01.04.04 @ 7:26 p.m.

I'm over posting. I think I'm just bored and have constant internet access (which is no longer fucked up, hurrah).

Anyway, I'm finding myself very interested by this article from the New York Times. (One probably would have to register to read it, but it's free, so why not? And if info gathering bothers you, lie and fuck the system, eh?) It's about Pop-Punk as "Therapy Rock". And I am not simply pleased by the mention of "Baba O'Riley" in the article, no, as a student of rock I'm intrigued. Is depression and suicide the last battle of rock? Or is it just the outstanding problem of teens in this era, to be replaced by something else, something more horrific?

This quote from the article sounds a bit off out of context:

Lee Huff, president-elect of the National Association of School Psychologists, said that although he devoutly wished parents and schools were more involved, he approved of rock bands counseling young people about depression and related issues.

Bet you wouldn't've heart that in 1958.

Also, Smashmouth is considered Pop-Punk. I did not know that, though it does not surprise me that much, especially listening to their first album. And I wonder how long I'd have to watch MTV2 before I saw that Good Charlotte video if it's as popular as they say. Except that it's MTV2, not main MTV. Hmmm.

I actually cooked a full dinner tonight, albiet just for myself. I made possibly the most delicious stir fry I've ever had after a few initial problems in the prep. First, the chicken just would not defrost, though the tip of it did cook itself in the microwave. The rest was frozen. So I improvised and ran hot water over it and massaged it. I'm getting quite cavalier about raw meat now. When I was choosing a knife to cut it, though, I picked the serrated one because hey, serrated knives always work best right? No. It was kind of sickening, actually, and I stopped right away. Eventually it occurred to me that butcher's knives probably have that name for a reason and lo and behold, it worked quite nicely.

I felt very cool, eating my delicious dinner and reading the New York Times and listening to the Clash. Or I would have if I weren't the only one home. I have not had actual human contact (bar some email and a phone call) since my dad left on Friday. Ena's not back yet and the cold outside is making going out a less than totally attractive prospect. But tomorrow is school, I'm sure I'll be overwhelmed and get all shy as usual.

I'm slightly annoyed with myself because I didn't have the kind of nail clippers I liked at home in PDX and so my nails got long to the point where they start to bug me, but when I cut them just now, I overcompensated and they're far too short. *sigh*

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top