cinderella

12.10.03 @ 1:43 p.m.

I don't know what exactly has overtaken me today, but this house is filthy and I just cannot stand it anymore. This house has broken me. And quite frankly, if things are a sub-Ellen level of general messiness, you should be calling in the public health department. I'm a slob, but at least I clean up after things like food... my style of messy is more a couch covered in books and clean yet unfolded laundry.

Seriously, I feel a little like something in me snapped this morning and as a result I spent the last, oh, three hours sweeping, shaking out rugs, and Comet-ing out the sinks and tub. I'm also wondering how to get everything off this table so it can get cleaned, I have piles of laundry waiting to be done, and a few other conspicuously dirty things are staring at me with accusation. For all that they don't have eyes.

There, now that we've begun to exorcise that mania, today was my last day of finals. Which is to say I turned in two things, which took me less than fifteen minutes and took the bus to the public library to return one of the duplicate copies of Liverpool Fantasy I had.

It's such a wonderful relief to have Legends magazine safely in the hands of the GTFs for Visual Communications. No more worry about it. Well, some worry, though grade-based worry is pretty uncommon for me. I've been pretty panicky about the quality level of the magazine pages, but it was fantastic to walk into class and hand it to an unfamiliar GTF (but Anna was up front showing slides to the people who elected to take the test rather than do a project, so I was in the right class), who took it and said "Whoa, this is beautiful." That would be my cue to fall on my knees at his feet and start sobbing "Thank you, thank you," but instead I went back out to the bus station.

What sucked about today was that I went all the way back to campus to try to unload the one book I really didn't want, and they're not buying it back. Something like eighty fucking dollars I paid for that VisComm book and I didn't even open it once. Talk about a waste. With any luck, I can get rid of it at Powells, but I'm not going to hold my breath or anything.

God. It feels like it's four or five, I've done so much today. I spent ages whittling down the giant pile of recycling in the kitchen (we are fervent but inept recyclers and as such, it just stacks up unsorted) and wheeled the giant new recycling bin to the curb, though I think I was too late for pick up. Well, doesn't matter. We're both leaving tomorrow, so it'll get picked up in a couple of weeks. All this cleaning has made me into a bit of a snarky, superior bitch, though. I left bunch of mean sounding rules of recycling on the fridge which I slightly regret, but not that much.

I don't know what I'm going to do with the rest of my day. Head down to the supermarket yet again to get something to eat for tonight and maybe something for tomorrow morning, finish cleaning (at least the things I already started) and pack up for home.

My snarkiness is wearing off on Ena, who is thankfully just now leaving even though she just got back. Some part of me suspects all this cleaning now is license not to do other cleaning later. Or I just hate packing and am trying to put it off as long as possible.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top