wah-wah

12.03.03 @ 7:15 p.m.

I had this great quote from Pete Townshend about how kids in his day didn't worry about hard drugs, they got their thrills from the tried and true pastimes of sex and housebreaking.

I managed housebreaking.

Well, not really. I went to investigate the laundry room now that it looks like our neighbors are finally totally gone. (The recycling box has gone missing, which annoys me no end.) The laundry room looks huge without all their shit in it. Now I can move my bike in there where it's protected from the elements. Anyway, there's a door from the laundry room into their house. Once I had a dream that I picked that lock to break into their empty house. The much easier reality was that they didn't bother locking it at all. Having never seen the inside of their house, I snuck in.

My parents would rather that Ena and I moved in there because the rent is much cheaper, but it's obvious why. It's hardly even a house. There's a small t-shaped room that acts as kitchen and living room and two bedrooms of sorts. The kitchen has an unbelieveably tiny oven. So small I can hardly believe it functions. No counter space or many cabinets either. I didn't see the bathroom. I peeked into the downstairs bedroom, which is really small, smaller than a dorm room. There are stairs at one end of the room that leads up to another bedroom. Or so I'm told. I think I'll go in again later and check it out some more.

I'm a little pissed that they took all the curtains from the laundry room, but they must have belonged to them anyway.

The other thing about them moving out is that there's a "For Rent" sign in the middle of our lawn. Gah.

School is dreadful right now. I fell asleep writing an 800 word paper last night and had to delay turning it in until this afternoon, which lost me a point. We were given a take home final for Classics, due Wednesday and I longed to work on ICRY, short story du jour. Well, actually, I've been working on it for nearly a year now. Whatever.

I also had my Italian oral final today, where I panicked and did worse than my potential. Fortunately, my teacher knew that and gave me a B+. It was hideously stressful. Bloody awful. Written tests I'm fine with, on the spot exams are miserable.

After that, I got up the courage to go hang out in Roma. Roma is this coffee shot and caf� where Ena always sees my much loved former professor, and Who Boy always used to have coffee from them in the mornings. (Yes, I'm still hung up on Who Boy despite not having seen him for weeks now. I can't help myself.) The idea is that everyone cool eventually shows up at Roma, and Ena forced my hand by demanding that I meet her there between one and two. Funnily enough, we were both there but didn't see each other until I got up to go to class. She had sat next to Roxy, her friend, but I was sitting in the back of the room facing away from the door. It was the only table I could reasonably take when I got there, and then I felt guilty because I sat next to a guy with whom there are vague and unclear issues. It's bad, but I don't really listen to her when she goes on about her own drama.

The last eventful thing of today was the final day of Rock History. Really the last for me, because I've taken both the classes. I'm pretty heartbroken about it. We had the last bit of lecture (where I mocked David Crosby wearing a leather poncho on some old televised Byrds performance of "Mr. Tambourine Man." Assuming it was Crosby. The tv labelled him, but he was the only one labelled, so I wonder if it was a mistake. Either way, it was a hideous thing. We had our last test. All is sadness.

Which is a nice pat excuse for why I don't feel like doing anything except moping around the house and reading a romance novel. Time for the TV to be turned off again in favor of All Things Must Pass.

[Title track is my favorite George Harrison song.]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top