i can't reach you

11.25.03 @ 1:44 p.m.

I passed the boredom event horizon in VisComm today, which meant that I stopped paying attention to the photographer shakily talking about designing his websites past, present and future blahbity blah. Anna, the GTF I like, gave a presentation about her long and varied career in journalism which sparked some interest. I still kind of think I should take a stab at the Multimedia Design minor so I can just force myself to learn the various types of code, etc.

But! Photographer Erik was boring to the point where I actually started writing a piece of "I Can't Reach You", planned for insertion right before the chapter I'm currently working on. (This is a just-for-the-hell-of-it story, something for my own entertainment.) The first draft started out following the song it's named after pretty well, but this, my third rewrite of the beginning, somehow lost the 'my mind tore us apart' bit.

But maybe that's not such a bad thing, because at least my imagination got kicked into gear enough for me to do my Italian test today. We had three sections where we had to write about Rosalba from Pane e Tulipani (Bread and Tulips) using three verb tenses. I'm fairly proud of what I have, which is encouraging considering I have to write three pages about a photo in Italian over the weekend. Oh shit, I have to write a rough draft tonight. This is not good because I don't DO rough drafts. I'm a one draft girl, at least with nonfiction. I suppose this is fiction, so her job or whatever could change. The girl's name is Aurelia (yeah, Love Actually is influencing me), but I haven't decided her last name or anything except that she is sad. Perhaps the man she loves has just died or got married. Hmmm...

I was going to work on my magazine this afternoon, but now I think the travel time is too much and that I should work on the Italian paper while I wait for Jodi to come.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top