let's spend the night together

11.24.03 @ 10:39 p.m.

*inarticulate sound of frustration and anguish*

I did finish two more pages of the magazine, but the computer I was using was being an absolute bastard and wouldn't let me convert them to EPS and then to JPG like I did with the cover. "Out of Memory." Pfft. Anyway, there are like, 8 pages left, and I have ideas for most of them. I have to finish the decline of Keith sidebar, though I think I only need pictures from '76 (his beard period) and '78, which I have, but haven't scanned yet.

It was such a pain trying to scan stuff. There are two scanning computers (plus one for scanning negatives which everyone just uses like all the others, ignoring the tiny boxy scanner there in the study carrol) and the one I ended up with (while there was still an insane line for scanner use) first made me wait 20 minutes while it saved the files from the last user (who must have made flipping gigantic files, from what I can tell). Too many parenthetical statements, there. Anyway, I didn't realize she was sitting next to me also waiting for it to log out so she could use a different computer and I was less than polite with my heaving sighs. At least I didn't go with my first inclination, snarky comments about unnecessarily huge files. Once I did get done with the bare minimum, I fiddled about with other stuff. Of course, the faster scanning computer opened up about half an hour after I finished scanning, so I left it open for a little while before claiming it to scan a bunch of things.

Today was one of the last days of Rock History, dedicated to a short lecture on Charles Manson and the White Album (and how he thought a lot of the songs were incitements to violence, mainly black power type uprisings). It was interesting (though I missed the first part, being late for class for the first time... I got caught up in work in the journalism lab and had to rush across campus), especially since vague and misunderstood ideas of Manson kept me from listening to "Helter Skelter" as a kid. Heck, I never really listened to the second disc until the last few years. We also watched several appearances of the Rolling Stones on Ed Sullivan. I've found out today that I irrationally and inexplicably dislike Brian Jones, I like Keith Richards more and more, and I'm very catty when it comes to commenting on Mick Jagger's clothes and hair. Hair is a big deal to me, for some reason. I guess because it's an easily alterable physical feature, so good hair is something you can achieve, something you can fix if it's not already good.

I was so happy when we listened to "Sympathy for the Devil," another childhood favorite of mine. Add "Mother's Little Helper" to that list and you have to wonder at my childhood and development, eh?

So now the Rolling Stones and the Kinks are battling it out for who is the next band for me to investigate in depth and obsess over. The Small Faces wait patiently to be third in line. U2 is back there somewhere, so's Led Zeppelin (because though jokes about the Zep and offhand comments amuse me, I don't get off on instrumental jams, downright plagiarism, and things that dally too close to psychedelia... and I have Led Zeppelin II, except that I don't right now because Martha borrowed it at the end of the Moni Party Weekend.) (And Robert Plant can sound very Jack Whiteish, though I should probably switch those two.)

I've run out of steam. Jodi comes tomorrow afternoon to hang out, visit, see the house, and then on Wednesday she's driving me up to Portland for the grand American celebration of orgiastic overconsumption of food. I plan to enjoy it, anyway. My dad is an excellent cook, even when my sister fucks up the consistancy of the potatoes (I hold stupid grudges, except that mashed potatoes are my second favorite part of Thanksgiving).

Now I shall listen to "Miss You" and other selected Stones songs ad naseum.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top