adding on...

11.20.03 @ 5:38 p.m.

Two more quick things:

Ena told me a few days ago that the reason all the ambulances are constantly going past our house (how is it that I never really noticed? I mean, I did, but I never thought "Whoa, a lot of ambulances go past our house!") is that there is either a) a drug rehab center or b) an old folks/nursing home about a block up from us. Apparently I never go east, because I had no idea. I still don't even know what the hell is up there, but I'm reminded by yet another ambulance flashing past the window. (And I am very close to the window, because it is FUCKING FREEZING in this house and under the windows are where all the heaters are. I'm huddled over the dining area heater, on which I almost melted the sole of one of my red and cream sketchers earlier today.) I guess if it is a rehab place, it's not one of those scary methadone-ish places, because all I ever hear is how this is like the nicest, safest neighborhood in Eugene.

Also, Ena lost her wallet the other day and in a rush of responsibility, cancelled all her bank cards. Today I think she got a new student ID after snagging my Campus Cash card to make a printout of her schedule to prove to the ID card people she's a student. (Why the hell do I have a CC card? It's so pointless. I should have just put money on my ID card, but I got nervy about accidentally fucking something up since I didn't know the system back then.) (Am huge moron, really.) So now that the effort to replace everything has gotten underway, we have two very nice messages on our answering machine telling us that, ah, two nice young men returned Ena's wallet to Lane Community Credit Union with everything still in it, including wads of cash. I'm curious as to whether she'll be pissy about having cancelled everything or relieved to have her stuff back.

Also, interesting thing: Apparently almost no one in Taiwan has credit or debit cards. They have ATM cards, yeah, but otherwise they apparently carry around flipping great piles of cash. Which makes less sense to me. Cash gone is cash gone forever. A bank card gone can be cancelled. On the other hand, there aren't the problems with identity theft or credit ratings. Damn, I had to get suddenly objective, didn't I?

There goes the ambulance again, sans flashing lights. I guess the problems they have up there must not be so very serious.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top