maestro

11.20.03 @ 2:27 p.m.

"My brother is not eccentric...."

--Jermaine Jackson on brother Michael

Okay, see, now that is just a lie. I think anyone who would build themselves their own bizarre little themepark and tries to buy the Elephant Man's bones has taken a great big giddy step over the 'eccentric' line. I just can't like anything about Michael Jackson. He, well, to be honest, he disgusts me.

Speaking of celebrity crime, This interview with Phil Spector was fascinating, really. Him I can be fascinated by. Brian Wilson, eh. Phil's got enough of the twitchy recluse thing going that I enjoy reading about him. I'd rather like to read Ronnie Bennett's book (Be My Baby) now.

I wonder at women who stay with men who are so very frighteningly controlling. Kim Moon was hardly allowed out of the house by Keith. He threw a champagne bottle at her and left it lodged in the wall with a gilt frame around it. It was fucking insane. She had to give up a promising modelling career while Keith went out and started modelling for Vidal Sassoon. Phil Spector made Ronnie drive with a manniquin of him in the passenger seat and leave the phone receiver on her pillow when she went on tour so he could hear her breathe all night. Okay, so the phone thing has light potential for romantic cuteness, but demanding it edges into scary.

It's killing me not to work on "I Can't Reach You" but Traveler is more important right now. (And that is all I'll say about NaNoWriMo today.)

I photoshopped myself into the bagism postcard after two and a half goddamn hours in the computer lab. Part of the problem was of the two scanners in the Brainerd lab, one is broken and the other keeps freezing up. I tried to scan the cover of TKAA to no avail. Gaah. I hate computer labs. My magazine, though, has potential. I've got an inside cover/preview page planned, a two page table of contents, a multipage feature on Keith's life (with sidebar on his physical degeneration, cruel but full of ideas), a review of TKAA, possibly spanning multiple pages, and a column about collecting vinyl, in the style of Steve Sansweet's collectables column in Star Wars Insider.

I can't find my keys, which makes me very annoyed. It's also nearly three and I haven't eaten anything all day, so I guess I better take care of that now with a nice toasty bagel sandwich. Mmmm.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top