fake it

10.09.03 @ 12:20 p.m.

Being blown away by Psychoderelict, yet again. This time, though, it was because I woke up with "Fake It" stuck in my head. And I started reading Lifehouse again. I don't think I've ever mentioned it, but it always amuses/annoys me that Rosalind's photo is described as "with it's suggestion of nudity, underage necrophilia, and incest." What? So if she was of age, necrophilia would be okay?

That sounds kind of awful, doesn't it? The photo is described as a nude photo of a youngish girl lying on 'her mother's' grave, not anything too horrible. Very gothic, perhaps. I tend to picture the cemetary here on campus with all it's gothic monuments. So pretty.

"Fake it, fake it, I can take it. Love's just an end, it's the means we feel..." It's so sad to listen to, makes you want to comfort poor Pete/Ray High. It also spurs the urge to write a fan letter to Pete, but oh, to be articulate and have something non-gushing to say. It's like how I started a fan letter to Michael Nesmith over a year ago because I had quite a nice drawing I was going to send, but I never finished what I started. I couldn't think of what to say. "Now and Then" is also staggeringly beautiful. Hard to believe that one person can create artistry that has SUCH an impact on me. And the Lifehouse things! Athena is the Gridlife equivalent of Jumbo, I'm sure. It's entrancing, the whole Lifehouse concept.

Last night Moni came over and we re-dyed my hair, so it looks like it did before, with the red tips. I got a comment on it today from Natasha, who was in my Freshman Interest Group and bloody annoyed everyone in it. She was amused that 'the girl who always had Beatles music coming from her room' is so 'punk'. This was after I explained to her that I initially did it to go to a White Stripes concert where I felt like going all-out. I said I wore all black and had my hair like this, which spurred the punk comment. I was tempted to say, "No, classy black, not punk black." But I didn't. I let it slide.

(popularity with everyone except the few people I truly WANT to talk to.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top